What I’d like to be doing…

June 15, 2007 at 2:32 am (Uncategorized)

como.gif

I got an email from Pam in SLC, and I was inspired:

“I doubt I can get much
mileage out of my stressed out, yet ultra boring existence. Maybe I
could use it as my fantasy escape and blog what I’d like to be doing
rather than what I am doing. You know, I always thought there was
somebody else driving a Mercedes and wearing $500 shoes who is living
the life I was supposed to have!  Ahhh, life is good, I shouldn’t
complain!”

So, I am wondering now, who is living my life? It’s certainly not Paris Hilton or Britney Spears (I always wear underwear), but I’m pretty certain there’s some almost 30 year old Canadian girl living in a villa on Lake Como, having massages; whose gorgeous, impeccably dressed children are toilet trained coming out of the womb! Someone who has unlimited access to the Valentino store, and who feels like she has had a good night sleep every night. Someone who does not have pregnancy induced swollen ankles, and who is probably not debabting whether Tony Parker just travelled the basketball (It is game 4 after all).

                         My life is pretty blah, but we’ve had our fair share of excitement, and I think I prefer boring. I am no longer mrsaffleck12 , and world travel with 2 kids tires me out. Maybe it’ll all get easier when I get my private jet! I would also like to say that Pam is one of the least boring people I know. She’s a designer who is always doing amazing stuff with her house, and she’s always coming up with the best ideas for things for her kids. I’m waiting to empty out my #10 can of macaroni so that I can replicate her coffee can game. It is one of  Samuel and William’s favorite things. She should honestly start a blog about creative things you can do for kids with stuff from around the house, but if you’re in the mood for $500 shoes, Saks was having a sale, and you can get some very nice Manolos for about $300!

Also, I’m wondering if anyone has any good ideas for a nice, but easy, father’s day dinner. It’s too hot to have the oven on all day. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

5 Comments

  1. liz said,

    Oh, dear. You just made me realize that I haven’t planned anything for father’s day yet. This wouldn’t be such a problem if I didn’t give Matt such a hard time about planning something good for mother’s day. Sigh….

  2. liz said,

    You’re hilarious! I often dream of a more, well, dreamy life. But I agree that “boring” is probably better. Father’s Day dinner? Hmmm…maybe I should cook something for Taylor for once! What kind of stuff does Doug like? Taylor put a yummy risotto recipe on his food blog, but I don’t know if that’s Doug’s style??

  3. liz said,

    oops, that was Anne, and so is this!

  4. pam said,

    I’m so thrilled that I made it to you blog! I am famous after all!! Love to read your musings and still feeling pressure to fit yet one more thing into my schedule – blogging. So…here’s my plan for father’s day:
    After sending john off golfing with my father (don’t know if that’s a blessing or a curse), I will have the kids make father’s day cards out of their own artwork. I decided after standing in the card store staring at horrid hallmarks that this would be far more appreciated (i hope) than store boughten cards. dinner will be steaks on the grill with a side salad and store bought cheesecake. that would be my vote for you – grill out! You go girl!

  5. sillyjillybean said,

    Sarah, I would totally watch you in a reality TV show like the Real World or the Simple Life. You ARE famous in my eyes! And, you are rich! You are a next generation heiriss to the KENTUCKY FRIED CHICKEN empire!!! You met Kernal Sanders as a kid! Who needs Brittney when you have the Kernal? By the way, I miss talking about the Oscars with you….knowing that you taped the whole thing and watched it….uninterupted!

Leave a Reply

