Things I miss…

June 16, 2007 at 1:49 am (Uncategorized)

mayorrocky1.jpg  

Today I had my three hour glucose tolerance test, and so I had a lot of time to think about things that I miss about SLC. A few years ago I never would have thought that there would be anything to miss about the wasatch front, but after a few weeks in Texas, there are some things that are making me nostalgic….

1. The Utah Shop Hop: I can’t say how much gas I burned making sure that I made it to every store on the list, but I always felt like I had a very productive week-end when I turned in my passport on Saturday afternoon. For those as crazy as me, this year’s shop hop is next week-end!

2. The cost of milk: I thought milk was pretty uniform, but alas no. Milk costs $3.29/gallon at costco, and you can’t get a two gallon set at costco here. I know I get no sympathy from Christina who is paying $5.00/gallon in NS, but still, I experienced some sticker shock when I got here!

3. Rocky Anderson: Now don’t get me wrong, Rocky annoys me to no end, but it always gave Doug and I something to talk about at lunch!

4. Sarcasm: I’m sure I’ll find other sarcastic people eventually, but for right now, all I’ve encountered are genuinely happy, upbeat people … curse all this sunshine!

5. The SLC grid system. As Doug says “God knows how to design a city!” 

6. Doctor’s who trust the 26 week 1 hour Glucose test: I hate the test, and having to take it again and failing it so that I have to take the 3 hour test is a little obnoxious. Thankfully I have a husband who loves me enough to load me up on one last hurrah of sugar in between testing and receiving the test results!

4 Comments

  1. sillyjillybean said,

    Sarah-your milk story made me feel better about the fact that Oregon Gas is so expensive. I will get a double pack of milk next time at Costco and think of you! Brian misses political talk with Doug. He reminds me often that Doug Roberts is a smart man. Sarcasm? Nobody does it? I am sure in their Texan way they do it! Now, Top 5 reasons I miss Utah

    1-Play dates with you and Liz
    2-Cafe Rio (and now you even get the real stuff!)
    3-Real restaurants in a real downtown (well, you know, compared to Medford)
    4-Mormon adds on the freeway
    5-Rush hour (yeah, when the fastest you go is only 40 mph and you never leave a 5 mile radius, you start to miss it)
    6-I know I said five, but there is another big one: my family (no surprise)

  2. liz said,

    I wish you were here and we could do the shop-hop together. Anne and I are thinking about doing it in your honor. The picture of Rocky Anderson right under “things I miss” cracks me up! Oh, and there are sarcastic people everywhere — they just hide it better in the south. Get to know some people a little better and their true colors will start to show…Give it time!

  3. Anne said,

    Liz took me to Piper’s for the first time today and it was euphoric. I was picking out the most darling Amy Butler “fat quarters” (just learned that term today) and Alison Krauss was playing overhead. Plus we didn’t take our babies so we were just free as birds. I told the cute girl working there that I imagined Heaven to be something like that–cute fabrics and blue grass and such. 🙂

  4. lovelydainty said,

    Anne,
    If you loved Piper’s, get Liz to take you to Elaine’s. Unless you’re looking for oilcloth, it has more selection and it’s a little cheaper.

Leave a Reply

