A little town called Gruene

June 17, 2007 at 4:08 am (Road Trips)

towermvc817c.jpg 

Well, yesterday we closed on our house. We are now officially real estate moguls! Hopefully we won’t be dual property owners for too much longer. I’m not cut out for life in the fast lane like Aubrey is!

Today was supposed to be our second little road trip to explore Texas (we checked out the ikea outside of Austin last week). Before we left Utah, Noelle told me about a town called Gruene and how it was one of her favorite places to visit when she lived in Texas. Normally  I would trust Noelle on things like this, but I have to say it wasn’t quite what we expected. The biggest problem was that we promised Samuel a cookie, and there was not a cookie for sale anywhere in town. What kind of quaint old timey town doesn’t sell cookies?! Needless to say, there were a couple of meltdowns during our stay in Gruene. Also, there was a natural store and I thought it would be a great place to get my sister’s birthday gift. However, all this store sold was rocks and arrowheads. not exactly Christina’s style! I think it might be more my style once fall arrives and everythig is a little more crisp, and hopefully, a little less muggy. Also, The GristMill was a very yummy restaurant (also Noelle’s reccomendation). I would advise going midweek to avoid the Saturday lunch rush!

I was on the lookout for something kind of like Chester, NS, but Gruene was a little too touristy. Next week, I think we might check out Fredericksburg.

One exciting note for today: we have officially unpacked our last box! We did it in less than two weeks, which is way better than the last house.

5 Comments

  1. liz said,

    Congratulations on getting through the last box! What a great feeling. Have they picked up the boxes and paper yet? I’m always so amazed how much space that stuff takes up.

  2. Christina said,

    How great to be done with boxes!

  3. Rhall said,

    Sarah, I am dying to talk to you about Texas. What part of San Antonio are you in? We were in Windcrest. Are you closer to the temple? I am so glad you are blogging!

  4. Anne said,

    Whatever, I can TOTALLY see Christina with an arrowhead necklace or something! 🙂

  5. sillyjillybean said,

    You have inspired me to check out Oregon. I basically travel in a 5 mile radius with Costco on the North end of town being my furthest destination. Maybe I will branch out and visit….Wimer? Talent? Applegate? The small town cities are endless!!!

Leave a Reply

