A tribute to the two fathers in my life…

June 19, 2007 at 3:35 am (Uncategorized)

img_0950.jpg 

copy-of-bill-frank_s.jpg 

Well this is a day late and a dollar short, but deli sandwiches and rice krispie squares do not make themselves for daddy’s special day!

I have two great dads in my life: my own father and my husband, the father of my kids.

There’s not really much I can say that would do either of these men justice. My dad would do anything for me. In fact, I’m pretty sure that if I mentioned needing help unpacking boxes, he’d be on the first flight down here (that is not a hint, Dad! The boxes are all unpacked). He will also clean when he does visit, and I mean deep clean (behind the washer, under the fridge, etc…). He is the kind of dad who makes sure there is a walnut crunch and a croissant from julien’s waiting for me when I go visit. Speaking of visits home, he used his points to get me a first class ticket when I flew home alone with the two boys at Christmas. It’s kind of annoying that Samuel think he should always have his own t.v. and a warm towel, but the extra room was well worth it when both boys refused to sleep from Montreal to San Francisco.

The other dad is Doug. He is unfailingly honest (do not ask him if you look fat at 35 weeks gestation, because the answer will definitely be yes!). I would like to say he surprises me with cowboy hats a la Taylor, but he doesn’t. What he does is make up little songs when our house gets robbed (so you had a bad day), or when our boys are being extremely  fussy (any old school rap!). Although comedian isn’t the first word that comes to mind when you think of Doug, he makes me laugh all the time. And even though one of our preferred methods of communication is bickering, he would never say anything to intentionally hurt  my feelings. One of the best things I can say about Doug is that he makes everything as drama free as possible. He is the king of “managing expectations,” and, as a result I am very rarely disappointed. Also, he has a knack for buying some of the best gifts (a cooking class, Canadian flag, music stand) with only thirty minutes thought!

I am very blessed that the young boys in my life have the example of these men in my life.

2 Comments

  1. Rhall said,

    Awesome, Sarah! I loved reading this. You do have great men in your life!

  2. liz said,

    I would say that both your father and your husband fit the description “unconventional.” And they’re both fantastic — just not in predictable ways. It’s so important to focus on what’s great about people. Love the pictures.

Leave a Reply

