“I would like to think that Jesus was an Engineer” – Doug

June 23, 2007 at 3:00 am (Marriage)

dj.jpg 

 How many engineers does it take to figure out the bean bag toss at a three year old’s birthday party?!

Sometimes being married to an engineer is just plain annoying. I know that Pam feels my pain, but I’m not sure if Christina does (I don’t think her engineer is typical!). Doug always needs some kind of project to tinker with, and now that our house isn’t that project, he has far too much time on his hands.

Tonight at dinner he tells me that he liked my idea about the building of his video game console. Huh?! My idea about the video game console?! For the record, I have never endorsed the building of a large arcade style video game. One time, when we were at the SkyBox, I mentioned how I preferred the old school coffeee table style PacMan game to the tall console. Somehow that comment translated into “Honey, I think it would be awesome if you built your own coffee table video game!”

I can’t take it! The horrible thing, besides the obvious, is that Doug will probably choose Pong for his game instead of PacMan or Super Mario bros. It could be a very long Summer! Anyway, every time I roll my eyes (which I do fairly often in a very dramatic fashion), Doug will come up with some nonsense about how I don’t truly support his hobbies the way he supports mine (he loves my quilting and scrapbooking!). Tonight I made some comment about how he was being such an engineer, and he replied with the aforementioned, “I would like to think that Jesus was an engineer.”  How does one respond to that?! If I had known about engineers when I was younger, I think I might have tried to warn myself about them!

5 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    Loved your post. I think it’s so great that I’m married to an engineer. If there is ever any problem around the house or if Joshua breaks a toy we just wait until Daddy gets home. Joshua will say “my Dad’s an engineer, he can fix it”. The projects can get overwhelming, especially since he has no time to work on them!

  2. sillyjillybean said,

    The one saving grace for Doug’s projects is that they are usually time intensive projects and hopefully this one will occupy him until he decides to build an ark in the backyard! And yes, he really is genius, but don’t feed his ego, it’s big enough to match Brian’s!

  3. Liz said,

    At the risk of seeming unsympathetic, count your blessings! I’m the engineer for this family, and I’m not that good at it! Evidence: a box of doorknobs and hinges in my Dining Room for three months, waiting to be installed. I think you should be glad he isn’t playing poker with his buddies or at a bar or something. Your new house has plenty of room for consoles, no?

  4. Anne Marie Cropper said,

    Well, I don’t know what to tell you about your engineer husband. Mine’s all in to his business classes and reading books constantly about investing, saving, etc. Sometimes I like to complain that it makes me feel like I shouldn’t spend money, but let’s be honest, it’s for the best! If I were in charge of the finances I would be a shopping junkie and never even check my balance (Mom, you can vouch!)! Also, I think your guest room looks lovely. Taylor and I really want to get down there in the near future. Have you seen his sister’s blog? On my list of links, click on “Becca.” They just moved to San Antonio, too. I wonder how close you are to them??

  5. Greg said,

    It could be worse . . you could be married to an accountant .. .they have half the personality of engineers. 😛

    Nice been bag game, who thought of that one? 😛

Leave a Reply

