America’s Test Kitchen

June 28, 2007 at 7:37 pm (Things I love)

 012icgwnurl_aa90_.jpg

I am now at the point in my pregnancy where I’m preparing freezer meals for after the baby is born. Usually this consists of spaghetti sauce and chicken enchilada casserole. last week however, while at Costco, I noticed a new cookbook from America’s Test Kitchen. The book is called,The Best Make Ahead Recipe , and it’s full of wonderful things that can be frozen for future use. For those of you who don’t love America’s Test Kitchen the way that Amy F., Jessica S. and I do, let me just tell you about it. It’s all good. These are the people who publish Cook’s Illustrated which is kind of like the Consumer’s Digest for cooking. They don’t accept any advertising and so their recommendations don’t have any strings attached. Also, their recipe for lemon pound cake is to die for. It’s not in my new cookbook, but I believe it’s in their huge Family cookbook, which is also available at Costco. I don’t mean to plug Costco so much, but if you’re going to buy a book, you might as well go to the cheapest place for books.

The other night I made creamy chicken penne with mushrooms. I don’t know how it tastes yet, because I froze both servings, but it looks good. As a side note, the recipe called for white wine. Normally I don’t use wine for cooking, but after I read Taylor’s risotto comments (check out the Feed your family link), and now that I don’t have to go to the state liquor store, I thought I’d give it a whirl. Just a word of caution for those of you who might want to cook with wine, but don’t drink: a corkscrew comes in handy! I used to have a whole supply of corkscrews when I worked at the hotel, but that was many a year ago, and now all I have is a missing Swiss Army Knife. Doug wasn’t impressed to see the full bottle of wine just sitting on the counter, and my only reply was how Taylor said we weren’t really living if we didn’t cook with wine (I don’t know if that just applied to the Risotto recipe, but I figured I could take creative license). Anyway, heads up: buy a corkscrew, or get a bottle with a screw top!

p.s. Doug is very worried about the appearance of evil, and so I want to make sure that you all know that we’re still active in the church!!

8 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    Let me know if they have any great muffin recipes. That’s the one sure thing I make every single day! And I like to try new ones. Today I made a pineapple cream cheese muffin, mmmm!

  2. sillyjillybean said,

    Sinner…..

  3. sillyjillybean said,

    Doug….get over it. Ever had some yummy beer battered Halibut Fish & Chips? (I have to admit I will use the unmentionable to cook with but then toss the rest, bury the bottle, to make sure everyone doesn’t think I am a sinner…. 🙂

  4. Taylor said,

    hehehe–that was hilarious. Good for you for giving it a whirl. When I was living at my grandma’s house she made me hide my booze in the back of the cupboard and double bag the trash when I was throwing a bottle away.
    I’ve made the corkscrew mistake before too. I resorted to a wood screw and a pair of pliers.
    Thanks for the tip on America’s Test Kitchen. Cook’s Illustrated is great.

  5. Pam said,

    So two things:
    1. I’m excited to here about the SA hookup. Right now John is so busy with work that I think he would gladly be that stay at home dad you mentioned earlier.
    2. You probably don’t want to know this and maybe you don’t care but…I clicked on the link at the bottom of your website that said Design by Beccary. Well, what popped up? Her blog titled, A brief ramble on life, learning and atheism. just thought that was interesting
    and
    3. Gabe still talks about Samuel all the time and in fact, today when we went to get ice cream he said he wanted to get some for Samuel and bring it to Texas! So gone, but definitelly not forgotten!

  6. Pam said,

    so i said two things and then I mentioned three – and even umbered them. I am a dufuss.

  7. Greg said,

    Doug must think I am very evil, considering I have a cupboard full of whiskey & beer that I use for cooking.

    BTW- by boss’s wife gave me a cookbook that had some interesting recipes, the grilled lemon chicken looked interesting. after i try it, I will pass it along if good.

  8. Nisa said,

    The more that you write about your husband, the more I laugh and want to meet him someday.

Leave a Reply

