Books I Love

July 7, 2007 at 2:26 am (Things I love)

mayjune-07-006.jpg 

The other day I was surprised in the mail by  package from my sister Christina. sometimes I’m a little leery of Christina’s taste in literature (I didn’t personally enjoy A History of Love), but these books look great. One was a children’s book that she got off Mrs. Cropper’s site all about US presidents. So far I’ve been loving reading it to Samuel. She also sent me a burlap bag for the farmers’ market. The best part about the bag is that it’s a fundraiser for a UN children’s charity, which kind of annoys Doug. It’s always fun to put on an accessory and hear one of Doug’s UN tirades at the same time! I’ve probably been using the bag more than I should, but it’s very amusing for me!!

After receiving this lovely bonus during my first trip to the neighborhood mailbox (don’t even get me started on the USPS down here!), I’ve decided to write about a few of my favorite books.

This year at my old book group we read Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner. I can’t say enough about how much I loved that book. The best sign for me is that I slow down my reading as the book is nearing the finish because I don’t want it to end. After i finished with Crossing to Safety, I went on a Stegner binge. I think I finished almost every piece of fiction that Stegner wrote, with the exception of Big Rock Candy Mountain, which I had to return to the library before we moved. I do have to say though, that I don’t enjoy Stegner’s non-fiction quite as much.

I also just finished These is my Words, which Amy F. does nothing but rave about. I don’t know if ever had an in depth conversation with Amy F. where These is my Words wasn’t mentioned! This one is written in journal form, and it’s addictive.

I will always love anything by Edith Wharton and Maeve Binchy, who are completely un-alike except for the fact that I have to read everything written by them.

Right now I’m reading My Life in france by Julia Child, and it just takes me back to a lot of the experiences that I had when I first lived in France. I love reading books that take places in places where I’ve lived, especially in a historical setting. I love picturing a place I’ve lived as something completely different. For that reason, I really liked reading Barometer Rising, which might be enjoyable for those of you heading off to NS in August.

I love to read. It’s something I have to do every day. I’m interested to know what your favorite books are, and why you choose the books you choose. If I didn’t have kids (and sometimes even now), I could spend whole days doing nothing but reading. Let me know. Now that I have no Book Group I need to have some help creating my back-up list of books to read.

7 Comments

  1. Taylor said,

    Wow–That bit about the bag was a riot. Three cheers for Doug.
    Julia Child is a legend. I bet the book about her is cool. She demystified French cuisine for American cooks.
    My favorite book (although it might not be right up your alley–probably something Doug would enjoy if he’s not yet read it) is Atlas Shrugged. It’s a great story that illustrates how we ought to value ingenuity and productivity.

  2. Anne Marie Cropper said,

    Well, first of all, I think you should join my cyber-book club. We’ll be starting a new book soon. Second, WOW–in reading your post I realized yet again that I know next to nothing about adult literature! Maybe one of these days I’ll start reading big people books. Maybe.

  3. Pam said,

    Oh, I’ve got a good one for you! It’s a double whammy. I recently purchased For Every Child a Better World which is a publication put out by the UN and written by none other than Kermit the Frog. I bought it because I needed to instill some gratitude into my child and I wanted him to know how blessed he was to live in our country and have a home and so on. The book is a bit heavy but the illustrations are great! I give it two thumbs up primarily for the annoyance factor. You’ll have great fun leaving it lying around for Doug to find!

  4. Pam said,

    Taylor – have you read the Fountainhead? I haven’t gotten to Atlas Shrugged but wondering if you read both, which you preferred?

  5. Christina said,

    Wow, sounds like you have a great sister!

    The last book I read was the Higher Power of Lucky and I will try to comment on Mrs. Cropper’s site! Before that I read The Lonesome Gods by Louis L’Amour which I enjoyed and I recently read Jane Eyre which I think is my favorite book of all time (either that or Little Women). I’ll have to check on some of your book tips, maybe pick one up for my vacation that can’t come soon enough!

  6. liz said,

    This is such a great post — I seem not to be able to sit down with a book lately (magazines are more my attention span at the moment), but am intrigued by several of your suggestions. I love, love, love Wallace Stegner’s Angle of Repose, which I’m sure you read. Christina, have you seen the new Masterpiece Theater version of Jane Eyre? It is fabulous — everyone who loves that type of stuff should see it.

  7. Amy F. said,

    Ah, some of my favorite books….That happens to be some of my favorite conversations. I just read Brainiac by Ken Jennings and enjoyed it so much more than I thought I would. He is funny and engaging. Here are some others, not in order of preference: Cold Sassy Tree; The Giver (young adult); Follow the River (don’t judge by its cover; it looks like a Harlequin, but it’s based on a fascinating true story); Peace Like a River (first novel of the author–great writer); The Good Earth (a classic); The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio(true story and very inspiring); Persian Pickle Club; Gilead; Five Quarters of the Orange (takes place in France); and obviously To Kill a Mockingbird–too bad Harper Lee didn’t write more. Oh baby!

Leave a Reply

