Pride Goeth Before Sea World

July 15, 2007 at 2:10 am (Uncategorized)

seaworld.jpg 

Yesterday, I thought I had a great idea. I figured now that we have the girl here we could go and have a fun morning at Sea World. I had driven down there with the boys once before, but it had started raining so we never went inside. I thought since I had driven there once, I would be able to find it again no problem.

Ha! Ha! Ha!

I knew the park was only 18 miles from my house. So, after about 40 minutes driving and a roadside stand for Fredericksburg peaches I deduced that we were officially lost! At this point, the girl suggests that we stop and ask for directions. I said I would be too embarassed. Then the girl says that she’ll save me my embarassment and ask for directions for me. I said no way because then I would be embarassed by proxy. It wasn’t like we made one wrong turn, I went in the opposite direction for 40 minutes!

So, I thought I could call my sister and she could find me some internet directions, but she wasn’t at home. Then my mom wasn’t near the computer, and Doug wasn’t picking up his phone (don’t even get me started on this; I keep telling him that he has to keep his phone with him always just in case the baby comes, but he leaves it!).

A few miles back we saw a sign for San Marcos which is where the outlet mall is, so I figured we might as well do something. Little did I know that it was the 35mi. scenic route to San Marcos! Oh well, the scenic route was lovely. This is texas Hill Country! The outlets were fun, but it was huge. We only went to a few stores. No matter how much help you have, an outlet mall is not for toddlers!

After we got home, we loaded Doug into the car, and once more headed out to Sea World… in rush hour traffic! We made it there in time for two roller coaster rides and one beluga/dolphin show! I also got a great idea to get rid of th veins in my legs… just cover them with really ugly tattoos (I would have taken a picture, but the lady could have totally beat me up!)!

Anyway, I’m now off to Harry Potter. It is my sinister plan to go into labor half-way through! Think happy thoughts for me!

4 Comments

  1. liz said,

    I hate asking for directions! This is a stereotypically male quality which Matt does not have. I’m glad you have it too. I know all about scenic tours of new-home locales. I’m guessing Texas is harder than Utah to navigate, too, because of the lack of mountains telling you which direction you are going. Hope you go into labor ASAP 🙂

  2. Christina said,

    Sorry we couldn’t help with the directions. Wishing you happy birthing thoughts!

  3. Greg said,

    Now see . . I bet you never got lost in Utah!

    Utah sucks. 😛

  4. Anne said,

    You are hilarious. Especially about the tattoos. I’m glad you at least got some tasty peaches and a whale show into your crazy day! How did you like Harry Potter? I’ll think thoughts of labor contractions for you!

Leave a Reply

