Why I Love Having Babies

July 29, 2007 at 10:15 pm (Dougisms, Family)

copy-of-img_1296.jpg 

When I was pregnant with my first child I was worried that I would never want to have another baby, because I so hated being pregnant. I was grumpy and sick and huge. It was the hottest summer ever in Utah and we were living in our first house which had no cooling system except for the mini swamp cooler that Doug made for me (The window unit ac that we bought, didn’t work in the extreme heat).

However, for whatever reason (probably the epidural), I absolutely loved the experience of giving birth. It didn’t hurt, people are constantly telling you what a great job you’re doing, and at the end, someone hands you a baby. What’s not to love?! I remember driving home from the hospital thinking, I could do this again right now.

After baby number two, I wasn’t ready for a third on the drive home, but a couple of weeks later, I was thinking how great the whole birth experience is. Again, I still hate being pregnant, but it’s worth it at the end.

With baby number three, I thought things might be different. This was the first time I had to be induced, and this was my first baby in Texas. I wasn’t sure how different everything would be. I am happy to report, however, that it was still a great experience. The hospital was a little more boring, so I didn’t stay the full two nights, but other than that, I still came out with a great little boy.

Just in case you think that I don’t appreciate all the work that Doug does during these times I thought I’d leave you with some lovely Dougisms:

1. “make sure you’re sensitive to people who don’t love having babies” when writing your blog

2. “why didn’t you pack me some snacks in your hospital bag? just because you can’t eat, doesn’t mean that I can’t eat!” 

3. The day after the baby arrived: “I’m so tired. You don’t know what a long day I had yesterday.” (Yes, he was serious)

4. “don’t even pretend like that was hard work. I was there the whole time. You didn’t even push. The baby just popped out.”

Who says my husband isn’t super sensitive?!

5 Comments

  1. liz said,

    I know. I love childbirth too (and I don’t even do the epidural!) and almost no one gets it. Thanks for being in my club. I do have the problem of not making it look hard enough to my husband, therefore not getting the sympathy a woman in childbirth deserves. I’ll have to remember to pack Matt some snacks for this one — good tip! He’s sometimes tempted to head for the cafeteria, and I’m always afraid he’ll miss the delivery. I hate not being able to eat while in labor, though last time they let me drink, which I thought was so evolved and modern. And I love how quick they are to bring you snacks when you’re all done 🙂

  2. sillyjillybean said,

    Oh Sarah, listening to Doug is like listening to a milder version of Brian. I think that this is one of the major reasons I feel like a kindred sister to you (that and the fact that you rock!). I agree with your love of childbirth. I love it too! This last one through me for a loop because he was so large he didn’t look like a newborn nor did he fit the clothes I had brought. But as I left the hospital, I couldn’t help but think, “I will be back.”

  3. Rhall said,

    This post is why I love reading these blogs! I love you Sarah – the photo is great – you are all an inspiration.

  4. Greg said,

    You did not pack snacks for Doug? Big Boo boo! 😛

  5. Christina said,

    “I’m so tired. You don’t know what a long day I had yesterday.” (Yes, he was serious) – maybe he needs the epidural for the whole Disney experience!

    Honestly, it can be a long day for husbands too. I know my husband’s always tuckered from pressing on the small of my back for hours at a time – but I don’t think he’s ever told me what a long day he had!

    “What’s not to love?! I remember driving home from the hospital thinking, I could do this again right now.” – you are so crazy! wish I could see that cute baby up close!

Leave a Reply

