The Girl is Gone … sniff sniff!

August 14, 2007 at 10:00 am (Random Thoughts)

mayjune-07-007.jpg 

 All that’s left of “the girl”

How quickly time flies! Our girl is gone and now I have to start parenting my own children! After just one day with three kids at home, I’ve noticed that I tend to yell more when there are only children present. If nothing else, having the girl here helped me to be way more patient. Of course, why wouldn’t I be more patient, there was someone playing with my two toddlers all the time, plus she asked my husband random science questions, which he loved to answer. Also, I have a whole new appreciation for High School Musical (the sequel comes out this week!)!Everyone was happy. Why did we only have her stay five weeks? Did she really need to go back to start school?! What do you really learn in middle school anyway?

I have decided that if Doug and I ever decide to take a luxury vacation with our children (probably not, but you never know), we are taking the girl with us. Money well spent my friends! Now, you have to make sure that you know and like the girl, and that you can handle having someone know how you actually live, but for me it was all positive. Of course, the girl probably ran screaming into mother’s arms, telling her how crazy we are. Apparently her parents always agree (this was confirmed by her mother). And since my mother describes my marriage as a Sonny and Cher type of relationship (don’t even get me started), I’m pretty sure the girl thinks we’re headed for divorce court any day now! Now I know why Jill loves having her sisters come to stay with her. Just having an extra body around makes everything easier. I was actually making dinners pretty much all the time, and I could go to the grocery store by myself. It was like Xanadu!

mayjune-07-008.jpg

Benjamin 2 1/2  weeks

8 Comments

  1. Greg said,

    Go Utes??????

    What a horrible evil little girl.

    better dead than red.

  2. pam said,

    Is it just me or does The Girl look like the baby gifts you received? And Bejamin has a striking resemblance to same.

    We’re still working on sending a package but I’ve been uninspired as of late but we’re getting to it.

    I’m sorry the girl is leaving. I’m sure it was like a dream come true!

  3. pam said,

    okay, I guess it’s my computer. I just hit reload and two new pictures popped up. That’s much better!

    That’s what happens when your techno weenie engineer husband builds your computer for you – you just never know what you’ll get!

  4. Christina said,

    I had the same problem as Pam. I thought it was a little strange. Glad to see that all I had to do was refresh to see the real pictures. Give that cute baby a hug for me, wish we were going to see you in two weeks 😦

  5. Sarah said,

    Yeah, I don’t know what happened when I was creating this. The gift pictures mysteriously disappeared from the other post and were replaced with the pictures from this post. But I didn’t realize that they had switched. I get the right pictures when I look from my computer. How confusing. This is why I’m no fan of technology!

  6. sillyjillybean said,

    Ok, that boy is the most adorable little guy I have seen. And Sarah, I am about to feel your pain. I have had sisters most of the summer and she leaves this Saturday. My freedom is ending, my projects will end, summer will definitely come to a close. I hope they want to come out next summer.

  7. Anne said,

    OK I totally see your brother Mike in that photo of Benjamin. Anyone else?

  8. Margaret MacIntosh said,

    You look great Sarah and that little guy is adorable. I told Uncle Bill to send along some pics, asap! Hope all is well. Hope to see you soon!!

Leave a Reply

