Vacation

September 7, 2007 at 10:15 pm (Family, Good Deals, Kids)

florida07-006.jpg 

Maybe we’re a little crazy, but we decided to head to Florida in the middle of August with three kids, three and under, the youngest of whom was 4 weeks. My brother’s wife found an amazing deal to Disney, and we thought that it would be a good opportunity to see a lot of family all at once.

First, the deal:

6 nights in a one bedroom at Disney’s Saratoga Springs

One day at a Disney park for three of us (the two youngest were free)

2 meals and one snack a day for three of us. This included one table service (character meals included) amd one quick service. The table service meals included appetizer, entree and dessert and the tip. It was so much food that were trying our best to use up the credits on the last day!

We got all of this for $850. (That’s for our entire family)

Our first dinner on Sunday night would have come in at over $150. Kudos to Christie for the awesome deal. She’s ruined me for Disney vacations!

The first thing we did when we arrived in Florida was drive to Gainesville to visit with Doug’s brothers. Mike and Ingrid (Happy Birthday Ingrid!) had a baby a month before we had ours, and a double blessing seemed in order! It was great for our family, because a San Antonio blessing would have been a lonely affair for us. Thanks to Ingrid’s hospitality, we had two other Roberts brothers and their families, plus her family. I’m pretty sure, at one point, she had close to 30 people in her house for dinner. This is why it’s hard to be a roberts daughter-in-law: Ingrid just had an almost 12lb baby, plus three other young children, a husband doing his residency, a house full of guests, and she always had a smile on her face. Plus, as an aside, she’s a concert violinist. I don’t even try to compete!

copyblessing.jpg

The 2 Baby blessing families. Ingrid is on the far right.

The blessing was wonderful, and my parents were able to make the drive, which made it all the more special for me.

copy-of-mayjune-07-031.jpg

The 4 newest Roberts cousins!

 

Sunday afternoon we headed to Orlando. This is always kind of a hard trip for me to make because I used to work for the Mouse. Every time I go back I’m reminded that I’m no longer 19! I would pass by Vista Way and reminisce. I’d try and trace my steps(in my head) through the backstage areas. It’s somewhat bittersweet. But, there is a certain joy that comes from watching a three year old get to shoot aliens with Buzz Lightyear!

florida07-003.jpg

 Samuel, Mike, Grandpa, & Brady

We didn’t tell Samuel that we were going to Disney until we were there, and I don’t think he really got it until we were inside the park! He loved Splash Mountain the most, but Buzz came in a close second! We only spent 1 1/2 days at the park, but that was more than enough for us. The hotel had great pools, and there were lots of cousins to play with. Plus Samuel had a movie date with his Grandpa!

Now, Doug originally agreed to this on the condition that there would be no more trips to Florida for a very long time, and that we would never again go in the Summer. Well, the joke’s on him. Next summer’s Roberts Family Reunion: Destin, FL in August!

p.s. We rented a Pacifica; they said there were 7 seat belts and room for 5 adults. That may be true, but there certainly wasn’t room for 3 car seats. It’s one of the most impractical cars ever!

florida07-002.jpg

 William getting his money’s worth out of the meal plan!

 

florida07-004.jpg

Princess Mackenzie

5 Comments

  1. ingrid said,

    Thanks for the birthday wishes! You are the first from the Roberts side to do so, so thank you! 🙂

    We loved visiting with your family while you were here in FL and hope that you feel welcome anytime. My girls are still talking about their fun cousins and I’m still talking about my fun sister in law!

    Yes, Destin, FL next August will be so fun and maybe you can convince Doug to hop down to Disney with us for a day or two before or after the reunion…

    I still cannot believe what a great deal you got for a family of 5 to Disney! Amazing!!!! Samuel makes a great pirate! Love the costume!

  2. Christina said,

    I don’t know if I’ll ever convince my husband to make it back to Orlando! Looks like you guys had a great time! You and Doug looked sharp for the baby blessing – new suit and dress? I like Benjamin’s face in the picture with all of his cousins. Cute family!

  3. liz said,

    I can’t believe how fabulous you look, Sarah — great black dress. Next time Christie finds that kind of deal, I say call us. It would make it worth all of the airfare for our family! My kids are always asking me when they get to go to Disney World. Loved the picture of all of those babies too.

  4. sillyjillybean said,

    Ditto to Liz’s comment about letting us know when a deal like this comes along. That would be super cool. Sounds like you guys had a fantastic trip. Glad you got to bless the munchkin cousins together. I love the picture of the cousins on the sofa. I have one of Lizzy, Sophie, and 3 others on a sofa together and it is hillarious because Lizzy looks like she is from the land of the Buddha Babies!

  5. Anne said,

    Killer dear, KILLER black dress. You look hot!

Leave a Reply

