It’s Game Day … Pray for me!

September 8, 2007 at 8:36 pm (Dougisms, Marriage)

http://www.louisianagreetings.com/Pages/Notecards/gnc_6lsu.htm 

I am Canadian. We are not generally known for our football enthusiasm. I went to one high school football game when I was a senior, and I went to one game when I was at BYU. I’m still trying to figure out the rules.

I am however, married to a football freak! It’s not all football, it’s just LSU football. The first time I saw Doug watch an LSU game, was after we got married. I had no idea! He ran around our apartment yelling and slamming doors, and I think they won that game! I quickly learned that saying “calm down, it’s just a game” is in no way an appropriate response to anything affiliated with LSU football! And don’t even think abbout saying that LSU and USC were co-national champions in 2003.

Now, this Tiger craziness has made it’s way to the next generation. Samuel has memorized the LSU Fight song, and he’s been talking football all day. He used to get scared when Doug would scream after the touchdowns, now he just glows with pride.

Please, keep me in your thoughts and prayers. It will be a very long week for me if LSU doesn’t win tonight.

4 Comments

  1. ingrid said,

    Sarah,
    I was laughing SO hard while reading this post because Mike is presently watching the LSU/Virg. Tech game and he is very much like Doug with his enthusiasm and loud reactions to almost anything a Tiger football player does. I’m surprised our kids are still asleep!

    I still cannot believe how brave Mike and Doug were while attending a UF/LSU game here in Gainesville last year, wearing their purple and gold with great pride, sitting smack in the middle of the orange & blue UF student section, and screaming for their Tigers with no fear. (I seriously thought I was going to get mauled!) Mike’s infectious love for LSU has rubbed off on our little ones too! (After all, you have seen our boy’s room!) We really need to live closer, Sarah, especially during football season for our sanity’s sake!

    And not to worry, Sarah, I think LSU is in serious fighting mode this year! They will be National Champions for sure this year and none of this nonsense of co-champions like in 2003.

    I’m gonna start a blog one of these days because yours is just too much fun!

  2. Greg said,

    LSU is going for the championship this year. Maybe I will need to get engaged and set a date for the same day as the championship game.

  3. sillyjillybean said,

    Did they win? All I know is my precious BYU lost miserably to UCLA:(

  4. Sarah said,

    Greg, don’t make Doug have to choose! Of course, I’d be there!

Leave a Reply

