Why I Love Doug

September 13, 2007 at 3:48 pm (Marriage)

Areas ceded by Finland to the Soviet Union after the Winter War in 1940 and the Continuation War in 1944. Porkkala was returned to Finland in 1956.

The other day I received an invitation to a friend’s wedding … in Turku, Finland! This was a girl a knew when I lived in France. There were three exchange students at our rural high school that year, me, Miia, and Karla. I have not seen either of these ladies since I was 16, but you know how it is when you go through something that only a few people really understand!

Anyway, for fun I priced out a ticket and hotel for the big event. When Doug came home I jokingly mentioned how I was due a little “me time!” Just when I think I know the man, he comes out with “I think you should go.” What’s with that?! Normally he questions me on little things like organic vs. non-organic, or liquid vs. powder detergent. Now, he’s all for a trip halfway around the world. He said that it’s not every day I get an opportunity to go to Finland and see old friends.

How nice is that? Now, I thought about it long and hard, but then I calculated how long the flights are, and I decided that a 14 hour travel day with a 7 week old baby would not be fun. Plus I haven’t applied for  a passport for the new baby yet. Also, Going all that way to spend two days and not actually spending that much timewith my friends because, after all, it is a wedding, and I have a nursing baby. Still, the fact that he encouraged me to go and was willing to take the time off work to watch the other boys makes me very happy!

3 Comments

  1. Rhall said,

    This is amazing!

  2. ingrid said,

    This makes me happy too. What a thoughtful and kind gesture…a true Roberts gentleman.

  3. liz said,

    How funny. The husbands are just always surprising us aren’t they? An update on the flood, please?

Leave a Reply

