I’m Free!

September 19, 2007 at 2:54 pm (Uncategorized)

Alright, I think I might be out of my funk. I have left the house every day for the past three days… with all my kids! I had been nervous about carting three kids around, not to mention trying to fit them all in the back of the cobalt! On Monday I took the boys for haircuts. There is a little place in our neighborhood, and the kids get to sit on ride-on toys to get their haircut. Samuel sat on a motorcycle and William had a pony. They also got to watch a cartoon. This made all the difference. The didn’t even notice the clippers.

Yesterday I took them for pictures. I haven’t taken the boys for professional pictures since William was a couple of months old. There is a space on my fridge where I keep baby pictures, and Benjamin was missing. I tell you, these photo studios are con-artists. I don’t know what they do, but the pictures they took were not my children. There was no trace of the screaming, smelly, snotty mess that normally represents my boys! That’s why they can charge so much! No lie, the girl bought out a frame that she was trying to sell me for $250. It took me a whil to figure out that the family in the frame was mine! I wish I could show you all this picture! Clearly I didn’t spend $250, but I bought the picture by itself for $20!

Today’s trip was just to the playgroup. I’ve got to make some friends so that I can figure out who the best babysitters are, and also where these people are sending their kids to pre-school.

Today I’m making bread from a recipe that I got from Taylor . I’ll let you know how it goes. If you haven’t gone to Tayor’s site, head on over. His food is amazing, and the pictures are great. He tells me that he just uses a regualr camera, but I don’t believe it! Just like I don’t believe he always just happens to have all those ingredients “on hand”! Either way, the food always tastes amazing, it’s very easy, and my whole family loves it!

6 Comments

  1. Nisa Hunt said,

    How long have you been in Texas?

  2. Anne said,

    Getting out makes such a difference, doesn’t it? And I’m constantly wimping out of errands, etc. because of ONE child–I need to suck it up and be brave like you!

  3. liz said,

    Taking three kids anywhere is a huge job . I’m glad that you’re getting it figured it out. I hope you can find some good friends you’ll enjoy — that makes such a difference for me. You don’t have to love them and agree with everything they say, you just have to be able to stand them. I’m serious. You need to not feel alone as a mom in a new city.

  4. ingrid said,

    I’m SO impressed that you took the boys for haircuts AND photos! (Both of which are HUGE and daunting tasks with little ones.) VERY impressive.

    Did you by chance go to picture people? Their sheets are usually $20 a piece, but I have some coupons for free stuff if you would like that I cannot use because I have reached my limit there for this round of coupons…

    I can;t say this enough…I wish we lived closer! Best wishes with the new friend searching…

  5. rhall said,

    I’m dying to see the cute photo!

  6. sillyjillybean said,

    Glad you’re joining the party of packing around 3 kids (don’t you love the carseat scenario?). Anyways, you are fab, keep forcing yourself amongst the social playgroups and you will find that fast friend, babysitter, kids playmate you are looking for. I tried today at the park with our playgroup–failed miserably;)

Leave a Reply

