I love food!

September 25, 2007 at 11:31 am (Food, Makes me Smile, recipes)

I’m not sure if I qulify as an emotional eater, but good food definitely makes me happy! Do you ever just sit down to a meal and smile when you take the first bite? This has happened to me at the following places:

  •  Chocolate Mousse at the Phoenix Ritz  
  • Wild Mushroom Tart at the The Metropolitan
  • Duck at the, now closed, Dijonin SLC
  • Mushroom and Chicken Ravioli, in Halifax, at Il Mercato
  • Poutine, which is normally only available in Canada, but which I found last year at the Utah State Fair. Heavenly!
  • Fish and Chips at the Tavern in Dartmouth.
  • Alright, now I’m craving some food. I need to find so go-to restaurants for San Antonio!

    I’ve been trying some new recipes lately and I found a couple that were quite successful at my house. It takes something special to get Doug to compliment food, but he loved this Plum Tarte Tatin that I found in  Bon Appetit Magazine.

    PLUM TARTE TATIN

    Recipe

     

    This recipe was so easy. It takes a bit of time for cooling, so if you want to have it for dinner dessert you need to make it early. Very yummy.

    I also got a good recipe for whole wheat bread from Taylor. I made it, and it turned out. I used whole grain flour instead of whole wheat, so it was a little heavier, but my kids asked for extra bread instead of extra flan cake the other night!

    2 packages dry yeast

    2 cups warm whole milk

    !/4 cup honey

    2 eggs

    6 cups whole wheat flour

    2 tsp. salt

    6 tbsp. soft butter

    dissolve the yeast in a bowl for about 5 minutes

    whisk in the honey and eggs, then add the other stuff and stir it together or use the dough hook on a mixer.

    Mix until it all comes together, then knead for 5-7 minutes.

    Form into a ball and put it into an oiled bowl–cover with plastic and let rise until it doubles (1.5–2 hours)

    Punch it down, divide it two balls and form loaves by pressing them flat and rolling them up.  Place the loaves, seam-side down into prepared pans and press them down slightly.

    Cover with a towel and let them rise until they double (45-60 minutes)

    Dust the tops with a little more flour and place them on the middle rack of a preheated (375) oven and bake ’til they sound hollow when tapped (about 35-40 minutes)

    That’s another winner for Taylor!

6 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    Trying to make me hungry?

    Made this tonight. Took ten minutes and was very tasty!

    http://thepioneerwomancooks.com/2007/06/marlboro_mans_s.html

  2. liz said,

    I love food too. Some people are so uninterested in it, and I never feel like I can relate to them. Thanks for two new recipes to try — three if you count Christina’s. I love a recipe with a personal recommendation — sometimes cookbooks and websites fail you!

  3. Greg said,

    Anyone who has seen me, or a picture of me, knows I love food!

  4. ingrid said,

    YUM! Thanks for the recipe!

  5. Anne said,

    yummmmm. Taylor introduced me to tarte tatin a few years ago (just like he introduced me to everything other than grilled cheese sandwiches). We are big fans.

  6. ccbologna said,

    thanks of the prescription, Sandro Italy

Leave a Reply

