The Great American Roadtrip

October 10, 2007 at 8:09 pm (Family)

cousins3.jpg 

All the LSU loyal cousins 

Aah … nothing says a nice relaxing week-end like 3 car seats in the back of a Cobalt for a trip from San Antonio to Baton Rouge! Now, just in case any of you are wondering, Laredo is NOT on the way to Louisiana! At least this time, it wasn’t me who made the wrong turn! We probably should have figured out our mistake some time before 1 hour into the trip. What was it that clued us in, you ask. Oh I don’t know, maybe the sign that said “Eagle Pass: Fastest Way to Mexico”!

So, the journey took a little longer than we expected (12 hours instead of 7), but once you take out the 2 hours for the wrong turn, the stopping every two hours like clockwork to feed the baby, the Houston rush hour traffic, the necessary stop at Goode BBQ so that Doug could maintain some semblance of sanity! All things considered, I think we made good time!

The week-end, despite the rocky start, turned out very well. We had a great visit with family, and most important of all, LSU won their game against Florida! As an added benefit, the new baby started sleeping through the night. Maybe we should take him out of the pram and have him sleep on the floor all the time!

fallsummer2007-194.jpg

Trying on some new LSU gear!

I didn’t even mind watching the kids while Doug was at the game because when the tigers win, it puts him in a very good mood. Also, I got to spend some quality time with my sisters-in-law.  The more time I spend with Ingrid, the more ideas I get for Christmas. We have their names this year, and I’m feeling pretty good! There was some trash talking the next day, however. Apparently Ingrid is under the deluded impression that she’s married to the smartest boy in the family! Come on, anyone who knows Doug, knows he’s the smartest guy in the whole wide world!  

ingridsarah.jpg

Ingrid and I with the new babies (mine can be the tailback, and hers can be the nose tackle!)

Sometimes I am guilty of thinking negatively about an idea before it even happens (7 hour roadtrip to Louisiana with 3 very small children, etc…), but this trip worked out very well. We all had a wonderful time, and we are seriously considering a return trip in Feb. for Mardi Gras (I know, I know!).

samben.jpg

p.s. If you’re going to go to the trouble of bringing the car adapter for the portable dvd player it would help to actually bring the dvd player!

5 Comments

  1. rhall said,

    Loved this, Sarah! We ought to come see you in San Antonio,we really loved living there. You are a great mom and have a great blog.

  2. liz said,

    LSU pictures of all of the cousins = adorable. I hope you go to Mardi Gras with your three small children, because that would definitely result in some interesting stories for your blog 😉 I hope the sleeping through the night lasts — isn’t a decent night’s sleep heaven?

  3. Christina said,

    You look so good. Go Tigers!

  4. ingrid said,

    I am married to the most handsome Roberts boy too! Mardi Gras 2008 here we come! Cute pics!!! 🙂 We enjoyed our fun visit with you this weekend.

  5. sillyjillybean said,

    I think I could argue with you about who is married to the world’s smartest man, because as you know, Brian’s head, ego, and caveman appeal are far superior to Doug’s (j/k). Anyways, love all the LSU apparel. I always want to do that with my kids but the BYU bookstore is too stinkin’ expensive and I am too cheap to spend it on them. Andrew always ends up with a t-shirt from the discount rack and the girls get a candy. Yes, this is prejudicial. Must work on that with the apparel thing. Glad you guys had such a fun time.

Leave a Reply

