Bye Bye House

October 11, 2007 at 10:52 pm (Uncategorized)

Click for details

Our first house isn’t our house anymore. This is kind of bittersweet for me. We learned a lot in our little Salt Lake cottage. We had two babies, Doug got his MBA, we learned a lot about plaster and plumbing. We made a lot of wonderful friends, and it was here that we really became a family. At first I was a little offended that nobody wanted to buy my house, but I’ve let that go, and now I’m just happy that our company offered us a guaranteed buy-out!

For the most part, I definitely feel like we’ve hit the jackpot here. We have drawers that open,  the temperature is consistently comfortable, and even though we still live on a corner, I have no problem letting the kids play outside. However, there are some things that I miss about our old house: our proximity to our friends, our old fireplace, the     built-ins in the dining room, and the great view that we had of the 4th of July fireworks.

I know that we couldn’t have stayed in that house forever, but I had all these visions of the three boys sharing their room, and the things that we would be doing. Now, that chapter is officially closed. We are here, and there is no going back to our little house on Parkway. We have all new memories to make here.

7 Comments

  1. ingrid said,

    We just painted our girl’s room this evening in anticipation of selling our house in a few months. It will be hard to leave because we have really liked it here (even though our LSU flag was stolen this past weekend! I seriously still cannot believe it! I know we live in Gator country, but come on!!! It was JUST a game.) I am sure we will feel bittersweet, just as you do, once we finally sell our home and move.

    By the way, I really liked your Salt Lake “cottage” – it had great character. Our family is looking forward to visiting your new abode in San Antonio…hopefully soon.

  2. Christina said,

    Congratulations. So excited for you to get a new chesterfield!

  3. liz said,

    I loved that house since I love all old houses, but after all the grief that place gave you, I think you should say, “good riddance!” I do wish they’d put cute nooks and built-ins in newer houses — why not? Hooray for functional kitchen cabinets (with no tulips on them ;)).

  4. Greg said,

    I am going to miss the fireworks. 😦

  5. Amy F. said,

    You mean you won’t miss the hobo-town behind your property (or in your garage), or the permanent Crockett car, or T.K. breaking and entering? Your post made me a little sad as I know there might come a day when we have to leave our little old cottage on Alden Street.

    Thinking of you,
    amy f

  6. sillyjillybean said,

    I am with Liz, “GOOD RIDDANCE!” You had so many issues with that house and the location was pretty busy for a growing family. And since I have now moved I am certainly ok with you sale. Just wish we both still lived in SLC. But, hooray for the jackpot! Now, go buy some furniture!

    P.S. Just finished watching the LSU/Kentucky game and all I could think about is poor Sarah having to live with Doug tonight. Thinking positive thoughts your way! LSU will rebound!

  7. Nisa Hunt said,

    I’m feeling the same thing, leaving my first house is sad. Be glad they bought you out. Micron is laying off 300 more people in the next couple of months, making it nearly impossible to sell ours.

Leave a Reply

