How Cool is That?

October 22, 2007 at 6:42 pm (Family)

birthday-003.jpg 

Yesterday I was awoken by a very excited little boy saying, “Hey Mom, I’m four years old! How cool is that?”

I don’t know where the time went, but I am now the mother of a four year old! I was feeling a little guilty this year because we decided not to have a party, and then I decided not to make a cake. We went to Sea World for his birthday, and I bought his cake at the grocery store. I was a little worried about the cake, but Doug ad my Mom said that it was perfectly alright not to make the cake. Then I worried about what Samuel would think if he realized that I only made cakes when other people were coming over. What does that say about me. Then came the horror of placing the cake order and having  the lady at the store tell me that they had no Power Ranger cake stuff. So, we ordered Spiderman. I was feeling guilty enough, but then when Samuel saw it he was upset that it wasn’t what he asked for. Doug tried to comfort me by saying that Samuel would never remember his 4th birthday, but it doesn’t matter, because I’ll remember it! And, if the whole cake incident wasn’t bad enough, Doug’ parents called from Mongolia, and all Samuel wanted to tell them was how I got the wrong cake! Fortunately they couldn’t understand what he was saying because the sound was a little off, but then Doug got on the phone and told them exactly what Samuel said! I asked him why he felt the need to tell his mother about my birthday cake failure and he just said, “Well my mother wanted to know what he said.” It’s like the man has no idea how to embellish!

Well, all I can say is that time flies when you are having fun. It’s this kind of stuff that makes me, at my craziest times, want to have a dozen kids!

1 Comment

  1. liz said,

    I love four. One of my favorite ages. That sounds like I’m joking, but I’m not.

Leave a Reply

