Where to Go?

October 24, 2007 at 9:34 pm (Fun Stuff)

Hilton Waikiki Prince Kuhio Hotel

So, this is where Doug is right now. He’s there on “business,” and so it’s apparently not any fun. However, he’s spending 4 days all buy himself, eating expensive meals on expense account. He’s looking at Gucci for computer bags and walking along the beach. Oh dear, I feel so badly for him. How does he do it?!

I have decided that I should also have a “business” trip! It won’t even be that bad for him because I’ll have the baby. At first I thought about going to Oregon with my mom, but the dates didn’t work out for Doug (likely story). Now, I have a new plan to take a week-end get-away with my sister. It’ll be official business because she’s planning a new business venture.

The question now is, where should we go. She’s in Nova Scotia and I’m in Texas so we kind of need to meet somewhere in the middle. We also want some place where we don’t know anyone so that we won’t have to spend our entire vacation visiting with people. So, I’m looking for input. Where do you think we should go? Keep in mind we’re two young, hip ultra-cool women + one 3 month old baby. 

Hilton Waikiki Prince Kuhio Hotel

9 Comments

  1. sillyjillybean said,

    My votes would be Washington D.C. because it has great shopping and site seeing adventures. I would also vote for NYC for the same reasons and you should chat with my sister Nettie who seems to know how to get cheap tickets for all things NYC. If you want smaller adventures, I would vote for somewhere in the midwest. I guess Arizona, Colorado, Utah and Oregon are out of the picture but I sure would go to any of those places in a heartbeat!

  2. Amy Macdonald said,

    My vote would be for Chicago. Easy for both of you to get to, and always a fun city.

  3. Greg said,

    Business travel is WAY over rated. I hate it.

    Go to Oregon on the 9th of November, I am heading up there that weekend!

  4. liz said,

    I was thinking Chicago, but DC or New York would be good too. There’s always Cleveland — it rocks, you know.

  5. rhall said,

    You should come visit us, obviously!

  6. pam said,

    Chicago for sure – you could find a place to stay near the Mag Mile and windows shop and eat at the outdoor cafe’s (weather permitting)!!

  7. Amy F. said,

    I went to Napa, CA just last weekend with 3 other female friends. I left Henry at home with dad–and they both survived! I did the “pump-n-dump” while I was gone and everything worked out great. We did hardly any sight-seeing. We just ate good French and Italian food, watched a movie, stayed up late talking, and generally rejuvenated ourselves. Go anywhere……….as long as there’s good food and maybe a little shopping. Who cares what the sights are?

  8. Nisa said,

    Off the subject a little, but I was just looking over photos from a Hunt family reunion and remembering my son’s birthday when we didn’t plan anything because we were camping and far from everything. Were you Christina’s angel sister who drove all the way to Jordanelle with a birthday cake for a four year old boy who was dying to have cake on his birthday? I hope my recollection is correct. If so, thank you thank you thank you thank you. That was truly a beautiful gesture, it made my son’s day, plus it is an awesome memory. And it was so kind of you to drive all the way up the canyon with a melty birthday cake on a blazing hot August day.

  9. Andrea said,

    My hubby went there as well ‘on business’ and then proceeded to complain about it. He wasn’t getting any sympathy from me! Lucky for me, I got to tag along on the next one for just the price of the plane ticket! Best vacation we ever had.
    My favorite city is San Francisco but that’s not exactly in the middle. I would probably head to NYC.

Leave a Reply

