Fun Stuff For the Week

December 2, 2007 at 1:22 am (Fun Stuff, Things I love)

This is one of the things that I love about living in this country (truth be told, with the exception of candy and margarine, I pretty much always love living in this country):

food-004.jpg 

I think it’s just something fun for the baby book. All three boys have a card, and they’re all different. So far, all the cards have been from the President Bush, but unless a new baby comes along a lot sooner than planned, the next card will come from someone new. I’m sure they do this in Canada too, but I just love this taxpayer perk!

Another thing I love is Etsy. I have bought some really fun stuff here. My latest purchase is this set of
alphabet cards. Here’s what they look like in the playroom:

food-006.jpg

They are extremely nerdy, so naturally I thought the engineer would love them. He went through all the letters until he came to K, Kepler’s 3rd Law. Shall I tell you what happened when he saw this card:

food-007.jpg

He says, “I don’t think that whole equation is Kepler. I think it was Newton. Let me go check my Physics book.” That’s right people he keeps a college Physics text book on the bedside table for random nerdy questions that come to him in the middle of the night! Sure enough, he is right. Kepler started the equation, but Newton developed it. At least I think that’s right, because I stopped listening to him when he said “Kepler!” So, there you go, Kepler has a 3rd Law, but the card is actually more than the 3rd Law. Holy Cow, I’m boring myself! Anyway, I ask the engineer if he wants me to write the creator of the cards, but he doesn’t want to rub it in her face! Who knew that my husband was too geeky for the Nerdy Alphabet Cards. Hopefully this won’t hinder the children’s intellectual growth!

6 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    Cute cards.
    Jason said he was thinking the same thing. I, on the other hand, haven’t even heard of Kepler’s 3rd Law. I have never taken a physics class and if I learned it high school it didn’t stick.
    And I am sure your children will be fine!

  2. Amy Macdonald said,

    I have to ask.. are the cards just send out randomly? I mean, does it come with their Birth Certificate, or what? It’s pretty cool either way!

  3. ingrid said,

    I had to chuckle when I clicked on the link to Etsy and it said “Geek up the nursery with nerdy ABC flash cards” I bet Doug is loving that you are setting up an environment for his future little geniuses. I loved AP physics in HS and seriously considered double majoring in physics/music in college. (This might sound like an odd combination, but there really are quite a few connections with physics and music). I do recall Kepler being associated somehow with Tycho Brahe. Does that sound right? (I just remember loving that name and at the time thinking what a fun name for a future son – I just don’t think Tycho fits well with Roberts and I didn’t want my son to be called Tycho the Psycho. 🙂 Does Kepler’s 3rd law have to do with planetary motion and then Newton formulated a theory of motion with gravity as the cause of planetary motion? It’s honestly been years since I have seen a physics book, but I enjoyed learning about this way back when. I would LOVE to get some of these “nerdy” alphabet cards… thanks for the link.

  4. liz said,

    I didn’t know about the presidential letters! You’ll have to explain what you did to get those. Also love the alphabet cards — people like Doug make me feel better about my own nerdy tendencies. I actually enjoy physics quite a bit. They would be great for Sam, who loves learning new facts and information (when two nerdy people have children, what do you get?).

  5. Amy F. said,

    Are Canadian transplants the only ones who get a Welcome card from the White House? I’ve lived here all my life and I pay taxes! What gives?

    Totally love the ABC cards. I’m sure Landon will, too.

  6. Honey Hunt said,

    I love your blog, Sarah. I hope you don’t mind me checking every so often, but I think it’s hilarious!

Leave a Reply

