A little bit bummed…

February 7, 2008 at 5:24 pm (Politics)

I debated about writing this, after all, they say there are two things you shouldn’t discuss in polite company: politics and religion, and this is really a twofer, but then I figured the dozen or so people out there who read this know me, and you know my intentions. I do have fun things to write about. I have two words for you: mardi gras! I’ll be back later with all the pictures. For now, here are my political rumblings for today:

I don’t know why I get so obsessed with politics. I can’t even vote! Still, I find myself picking a candidate, reading all the reports, listening to talk radio during our many road trips, and watching way too many debates. This is not the first time. I stayed up all night to watch the 2000 election returns, and I was completely enthralled with the SLC mayoral election while I was living there.

I should be used to disappointment by now. I think it’s kind of like the checkout line at the grocery store. Whatever you do, don’t stand behind me!

I am currently a little disillusioned with the whole process. I feel like it’s been going on forever, and I’m worn out. To top it all off, today the guy I liked dropped out.

Now, here’s where I’m going to get a little bit bitter:

I expect canditates to get a little nasty, That’s how politics works. I don’t like it, but at least you get to see a person’s true colors. What I don’t get is every “news” station being so undeniably biased. What I don’t get is the christian preacher candidate attacking another candidate’s religion in the newspaper. I don’t expect unbiased from the editorial section, but I do expect a little balance. When, during a debate, McCain is called out in a bald faced lie, and keeps on lying, no one questions him. Apparently being a war hero 30 years ago gives you carte blanche for the rest of your life.

I would like to think that Romney’s being Mormon had nothing to do with the way people campaigned, or the way they voted, but I don’t know how realistic that is. I have read a lot of blogs that were downright idiotic. If, however, you want to exclude someone based solely on their religion at least have the decency to be honest about it. I don’t know how many times I heard reporters say that they had personal issues with Romney without ever going into one detail. The fact that no one wanted to address the fact that Huckabee and McCain were working together to block Romney, and don’t even get me started on the Super Delegates on the Democratic side. I actually heard a Super Delegate say she hadn’t yet decided on her candidate, on primary day, because she was still trying to decide between her “gender” and her “generation.” What about the issues?

I know I shouldn’t be bitter. This is a process, and it happens every four years. I should be used to it by now. I should just sit back and enjoy the cartoons on jibjab, but I am finding it very difficult. Alright, maybe this will serve as some kind of purge for me. Maybe I will learn to let go, or maybe I will actually get more involved. Why should my non-voting status affect my ability to back a candidate?

I will be a citizen one day, and then, watch out world!

p.s. If any immigration officials are reading this, I have the utmost respect for the whole political process!

7 Comments

  1. rhall said,

    I am so glad you are back and I truly agree with you. How can people not see Romney’s talent? I have a lot of issues with McCain, beginning with his image and voice, which may seem petty of me. Love you.

  2. Taylor said,

    McCain’s Lie at the debate made me soooo mad. But like you said, what bothered me even more was that all the commentators were OK with it and continued to act like there was some question as to the validity of Romney’s objection. Overall, though, I still Like McCain for the very flexibility that Rush Limbaugh and Anne Coulter would have him crucified for.
    I know everyone is so enamored with Obama for his charisma and inspirational speeches, but I sharply disagree with him on all the issues. I do not understand why some people are saying that now that Romney is out, they’re voting for Obama or Hillary. WWRD–What would Romney do? He’ll vote for McCain, and I think that’s wise at this point. He certainly won’t vote for Huckabee. His somewhat successful attempts to use religion to steer the race were shameful–but, we were all expecting that , I guess.
    I would like to see a post about the whole health care debate. Both sides point to Canada as evidence either for or against a more socialized system in th US. What has your experience been?

  3. ingrid said,

    It is what it is. I had my favorite candidate, and sadly he just did not get the votes. Your comment about not talking about politics or religion in polite company actually got me thinking – so really, who do you talk to about these things? I think it is so important to share your views and I am glad you did.

    AND I SO wish we could have gone to Mardi Gras with y’all as planned…I can’t wait to see pictures! We have been almost every year since 2002, so we really missed out!

  4. anne said,

    Yeah, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how much Mormonism had to play a role in Romney’s campaign. People are PC about him, but I have to think that their are some serious underlying issues people have with the church. It’s too bad. So where does a Republican go from here? Although McCain does absolutely nothing for me, I cannot get behind the big government Dems. Maybe I’ll just go with Ron Paul. 😉

  5. sillyjillybean said,

    Brian and I have been just as engrossed as you with this whole political process. The sorrow we felt Super Tuesday was real. The press really gave him no chance-except for Sean Hannity (love ya man!). What’s worse is here is a guy who could actually make a difference but who McCain loathes and will probably never utilize. I too am bitter. But what choice do we have? We have to vote McCain. Obama and Hillary make me ill in their ideology and actions. As Brian says, you will know them by their works. What works did Romney do of ill repute? NONE! It’s a sad day in politics.

    On a brighter note, I loved the fluid transition of our own church with the change of prophets, new counselors, and new apostles. This church is true!

  6. Pam said,

    What is the deal with the super delegate ?? How is that elected officials should have a greater impact on the vote than the public? After all, our government is supposed to be for ‘the people’ not for the elected officials to sway the outcome because their buddy is running for president.

  7. Sharleen said,

    Sarah, I had no idea you had a blog. I hope you don’t mind me stopping by and leaving comments every now and again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

