Before and After: the crap magnet

March 9, 2008 at 10:13 pm (before and after)

desk-001.jpg 

Do you have a place like this in your house? Somewhere that everything magically congregates? A place where, no matter how hard you try, crap magically finds a home? This is my crap magnet. It is the desk area in our kitchen. It is the dropping point on the way into the house, on the way upstairs, on the way to the laundry. Apparently, this “work station” is on the way to everywhere.

When we first looked at this house I was in love with the idea of this desk. I was going to plan my meals there, and pay bills, and basically run my house … my very very clean house! This, of course, never happened! The desk has become a Where’s Waldo game. If someone is looking for something, I’ll usually tell them to look on the kitchen desk. I’m not saying that anyone can ever find anything there, but they have to look there first!

In the before picture there is a whole plethora of crap. I could make it like one of those memory games. Look at the picture for twenty seconds and see what you can remember. Here’s what I came up with:

– cell phone

– Anne’s baby present (still to be mailed)

– Bills to be paid

– random box of rick rack

– Box of Pop Tarts (maybe I’ll organize the pantry next week!)

– PhotoShop tutorial book

– Box of free Crayola stuff that came in the mail

Clearly there was more than just that, but that’s my short list. Of all that stuff, probably just the cell phone and the bills belonged there. So, here’s the after, and I’m pleased to say that it still looks this way a week later. I make no promises that it will still look this way tomorrow!

desk-002.jpg

7 Comments

  1. ingrid said,

    Oh, Sarah. I think we all have a spot like this in our homes. At least, I do… I actually have two! (Perhaps I will work on bringing this down to one, and then managing just the one! Ha!) I find myself weekly updating my piles and always searching for ways to keep up! Way to go having a successful week with your immaculate kitchen desk area. (Love the cabinets, by the way!)

  2. Sharleen said,

    I definitely understand. I only wish that my clutter limited to only my desk . . .

  3. Sharleen said,

    above comment should be “was limited”

  4. liz said,

    I have three of those spots. Matt has two. My kids just leave their crap wherever they drop it. Just like Martha Stewart’s house, I’m sure of it.

  5. Christina said,

    Way to go Sarah – now you can come help me clean my house! How was your trip?

  6. sillyjillybean said,

    Sarah, very impressive. I just can’t help but ask you, what is that pile where the chair is suppose to be? :)J/K

  7. Nisa Hunt said,

    I guess the alternative could be having no place to put anything – as is the case with the house we had to purchase. I’d love to have a stash corner. Sure it would eventually grow out of control, but a place to put stuff is always a place with potential!

Leave a Reply

