Why I Don’t Have a Girl

March 11, 2008 at 5:54 pm (Family)

americangirl-005.jpg 

This is all very serious stuff as you can tell by the very serious looking security guard at the American Girl Store. That’s right, I said it, the American Girl Store! What was I, a mother of three boys, doing at the American Girl Store you might ask. Well, let me tell you.

We drove our family to Dallas on Friday night for a family baptism (note to self: never drive through Austin at Rush hour on a Friday). Now, you might think that I might have lots of spiritual type stuff to blog about this wonderful event, but really I’m just going to tell you about the American Girl Store.

After the baptism there was a girl cousins celebration. Even though I had nothing to contribute in the way of girl cousins, I was still invited along for the experience. Have any of you ever been to an American Girl store/ cafe? It is insane! I had no clue what was available in the way of marketing to young girls. Normally I am deluged with talk of SpiderMan and Power Rangers, but that is nothing compared to this place.

americangirl-004.jpg

There are dolls upon dolls upon dolls. Plus there are babies to get you ready for your grown dolls. Plus there are outfits for your dolls ad matching outfits for you. There is furniture and toilet training accessories (although, let me just say, if you can’t potty train your baby doll, you’re in some kind of trouble!). At this particular store there was also a hair salon … not for you, for your doll.

americangirl-001.jpg

Now yes, this is all very adorable, and I’m a little put out that I did not have these kind of opportunities when I was eight, but none of this comes cheap. I’m pretty sure the next step in the process is the 529 for your doll, followed by the IRA for your doll.  I did however manage to find my own Just Like Me Doll. Do you see the resemblance?

americangirl-002.jpg

My sister-in-law Aimee didn’t have as much luck with the Just Like Me dolls, but she has the prestige of knowing that Nicki looks just like her!

americangirl-003.jpg

Perhaps one day I’ll be blessed with a girl, but I’m sure that day won’t come until we’ve moved well away from driving distance to the American Girl Store!

2 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    Sounds like overkill for sure, but I bet all the girls had a great time!

  2. sillyjillybean said,

    May the fertile gods give you many estrogen filled ladies to make you appreciate how uncomplicated your boys are! May they also give you two in a row, 9 months a part, so you may get a glimpse into my life. May they be absolutely girly girls for you. May they require lots of pink clothing and dollies. May they snuggle with Doug and torment each other. Girls……love them!

Leave a Reply

