Geek by Association

March 14, 2008 at 3:15 pm (Doug Stuff, Fun Stuff)

 

Today I get a very urgent phone message from my sister-in-law Ingrid. She tells me that she has news and that I need to call her back right away. Of course, my first thought is that we are falling behind in baby making at our house, and then I think that maybe they’ve ditched their plans for Florida and decided to start up a medical practice here in Texas. What I was not expecting was a friendly reminder of the importance of today’s date.

“Do you know today is?” Ingrid asks.

“Umm Friday” I reply

“No, it’s Pi day”

“Pie day?”

“No, Pi. As in 3.14….. You need to make Doug a pie”

Area of the circle = π × area of the shaded square

When a circle's diameter is 1, its circumference is π.

images from Wikipedia

 

How great is Ingrid. Although her husband is not near so geeky as my own, she was thoughtful enough to keep us in mind on a day that must be near and dear to geeks around the world. Liz and Sharleen, I’m not sure if this is a paid holiday for math scholars, but I’m sure it will be made into a federal holiday any time. You two should definitely hit the town tonight! Pam and Christina, you might want to do a little something for the engineers in your lives. I’m not certain if Hallmark makes a card, but I’m sure you can come up with something!

I’m trying to decide if I, myself should make a whole theme night out of it. You know, chicken pot pie, then apple pie, and then fun little math problems where we actually use pi to figure out the measurements of the pie! Ah, so much to do and so little time. Man, to think I was stressing out about St. Patrick’s Day dinner. I have got to get myself more organized. Thanks for the heads up Ingrid! I knew there was a reason that I like you so much!

6 Comments

  1. Sharleen said,

    This is my fourth attempt to leave a comment . . . hmmmm . . . are you screening your comments!?
    Anyway, happy pi day. We celebrated and had a geek fest tonight. Hope you had a good one!

  2. ingrid said,

    What a sweet post.

    I am anxious to hear about Doug’s reaction…

  3. liz said,

    This is so funny, because I posted about pi day before I read this. How had I never thought nor known about this before? One of the big wigs at Matt’s office bought Marie Callenders for the entire site! About 200 people, I think. Next year, I’m making a pie — cute Matt brought one home from Dan’s and it was ok, but not as good as mine!

  4. Christina said,

    I did finish the pie, but too late to eat on pi day. Next year I hope to be more on top of it! Jason thinks I’m silly.

  5. sillyjillybean said,

    So…..not “pie”…..but “Pi.” Guess I don’t have to be as pleased about this holiday as I once thought.

  6. Jeannage said,

    well done, bro

Leave a Reply

