100 Easy Lessons?

April 1, 2008 at 1:42 pm (Kids)

Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons

So, we have been using the book, Teach your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons. I’ve been waiting to post about this until I actually convinced myself that we would finish the book. Today we did lesson 63, and now I feel like the end is in sight!

Doug has been very worried about making sure our 4 year old would be a good reader by the time he enters school. This was really prompted by his competitive side when he saw a little girl reading the sacrament prayer out of the scriptures at church one Sunday.

“How old is I.,” he asked

“She just turned 5,” I replied

“Crap, we’re going to be way behind!”

Ah… nothing like the love of learning for learning’s sake!

My problem then became, where do we begin. We taught Samuel his letters ages ago, but then we were sort of stuck. I didn’t know what the logical progression was when it came to reading. Samuel isn’t one of those boys who could figure it out all by himself (although, freakily enough he can figure math out by himself).So, my wonderful sister-in-law Ingrid recommended the 100 Easy Lessons book. Now, she didn’t actually use this book herself because her children are actually self-taught geniuses, but she knew someone who had had some success.

Off I went to Amazon and got myself the book. One of the things I really like about this book is that it is all scripted out. It tells you everything you’re supposed to say to your child. It gives you pronunciation guides, things to say when they do everything right and things to say when they make mistakes. I just wish it gave me something to say for when my kid is staring at the ceiling saying, “No, no it’s just too hard. I can’t read.” When I tell him he needs to look at the words to be able to read I just get a nasty look! There is also practice writing at the end of every lesson.

The other thing I like is that we’re always finished the lessons in 15 minutes. It’s not too much. Well, sometimes it is too much, but that’s probably more about my lack of sleep than my child’s ability. As a friendly hint: if any of you are thinking of trying this, the time to do reading lessons is not right before bed! We’ve had a few meltdowns when we’ve left it until the end of the day. My favorite time is right after lunch when the other two are napping.

I am amazed at the things that Samuel is able to read after two months. Just today his reading lesson involved a charming little story about a man, who couldn’t see, taking his gun to go shoot a deer. It was so tender! Yeah, so the stories seem a little out of date, but hey he’s reading them! Now, I don’t think this new-found skill is really genius on my son’s part, I just think it’s proof that persistence pays off, and it pays off better when there’s an actual organized plan involved.

However, now I think we did this a little early. I was hoping to to be able to sneak Samuel into school this year, but apparently the school-board is very strict with it’s cutoff date, so now I have to go find some more learning tools for when we’re done with the reading next month. Any ideas?

5 Comments

  1. ingrid said,

    Sarah, what a great success story! Thank you for the kind compliment that my children are self-taught geniuses. You really are too funny. They do learn alot intuitively and also by older sibling examples, but I have enjoyed sitting down and reading with them too. Tommy is at an age now that he is starting to really love books and learning the letter sounds, so it is fun to see his older sisters “teaching and quizzing” him.

    I have actually used that 100 days book with Ashley as well as hooked on phonics, and the Dick & Jane series. She thinks they are all fun, so we just use them whenever she wants to read. I believe by the end of the 100 days of reading book, Samuel will be at a confident 2nd grade reading level, so once you finish the book, I might take him to the bookstore or library and find some books on his level that peak his interest. I know what a book lover you are, so I can imagine what joy you are feeling right now with his amazing reading success and the fact that you can share something that you love with him. Way to go, Sarah and Samuel!

  2. liz said,

    We have used that book too. I also like the Bob Books (the first ones will be too easy now, but look for the slightly harder ones). My boys still liked reading “easy” stuff, even after the 100 lessons because it gave them confidence. Some Dr. Suess books are pretty easy once they’re where Samuel is — Hop on Pop, for example. There’s lots of great stuff. I can’t believe he’s old enough to be reading!

  3. Christina said,

    Joshua likes the Bob books, too. We picked ours up at Costco. You should also be able to get them at the library to try them out. The classic homeschooling book I read recommended Bob books for your permanent library because it gives kids a lot of confidence to have something that they can read all on their own. Good luck!

  4. sillyjillybean said,

    ummmm…I guess if you are “behind” in reading with your kids then I must be from the dark ages of having them mark an X for their name!

  5. Sharleen said,

    This is all way over my head. I know I’ll feel some pressure to get Isaac reading at an early age b/c my parents made sure we were all independent readers by age four and we had to read the whole Book of Mormon by the time we turned eight. I don’t know HOW they did that. I can’t even get Isaac to say Mama. He only says it when HE wants to. It figures that I’d have a kid just as stubborn as me . . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

