Who’s Your Daddy?!

April 22, 2008 at 3:52 pm (Family)

 

 

Everyone at the Alamo

We had a great visit with my parents last week, and while there is still some dust under my refrigerator, I do now have a whole freezer full of spaghetti sauce, and my yard has never looked better!

 

Samuel and Grandpa working in the yard

This was the first time that my dad has come that I have been the only one around. Before I’ve had siblings or family or other friends who also were on the receiving end of the visit. This time however, it was just us. Samuel had a great time being his grandpa’s special helper. I feel like we might spend this whole week recovering from all of the fun stuff we did. Doug and I even got to go to a movie one night while Dad and Ellen watched the kids. There was also an adults only dinner out, which was very tasty and relaxing.

 

At the Alamo

I know it was a hard week for my dad because his mom was in the hospital almost the whole time he was here. Even though he was understandably distracted and pre-occupied, he still managed to continually volunteer service to us. (I had to draw the line at new patio furniture, because I felt like we were already taking advantage) It was also tough becuae my oldest son, who is normally the perfect grandchild, decided to let loose with a whole bunch of imperfect behavior. Another illusion shattered!

There are lots of times when I am grateful that we live on our own away from some of the family drama, but this visit made me see what we miss in living so far.

 

Picking strawberres with Grandma

p.s. A special kudos to Liz and Jill for always being so willing to share their visits with Roger and Rozanne with my family.

p.p.s. This is the trip where I learned that you can go to Chuck E Cheese’s at 9:00am, and that you don’t have to buy the pizza! We were there for over an hour … all by ourselves!

5 Comments

  1. liz said,

    This is one of the great things about living far away from everybody (we don’t anymore, but I remember!) — when someone comes to see you, you have their undivided attention! It used to be like that for us when I was a kid and Nana and Grandpa Edwards would come — we saw them infrequently, but when we did, it was all about us. Glad you had so much fun. Also, I think Chuck E Cheese is the seventh circle of hell, but going there with it empty and not eating the food might be almost tolerable. Good tip.

  2. Sharleen said,

    It must be strawberry season. Ingrid’s going strawberry picking, you guys already did, and Aimee went to the Strawberry Festival in NOLA. I don’t know if I’ll go strawberry picking but I’ll definitely go strawberry buying!

  3. Nisa said,

    Hope your dad’s mom gets better. Thanks for the tip about chuck e cheese!

  4. sillyjillybean said,

    Four thoughts:
    1) I see my parents in 72 hours and I can’t wait. Yes, I am still a little girl sometimes who needs her mommy.

    2) We are going to Chuck-E-Cheese while in Utah. I love the place. I use to steal tickets when I was a pre-teen. Yes, I feel guilty, but not that much. I know, I have shattered my perfect image. Trust me, the tickets didn’t amount to too many prizes. And I finally did confess to the manager. Now, as a mother, I go there with all my siblings and parents, so basically, Brian and I do a ton a games and act like kids again while the rest enjoy watching the kids play. I think we will try your tip about 9am. Sounds perfect!

    3) Don’t ever turn down patio furniture. I am in need of some right now. Tell Bill to come visit me!

    4) I wish my trip to Utah included an extra week minus Brian….lots more fun!

  5. liz said,

    Hey, just wanted to tell you we were sorry to hear about your Nana. Thinking about you.

Leave a Reply

