He Looks Just Like His Father

May 21, 2008 at 11:13 am (Uncategorized)

Ah, the awkward moments. How do you reply when someone tells you that your son looks just like someone who isn’t his dad?! I usually have lots of fun responses like, “Thanks, but please don’t tell my husband.” It is however, an odd situation, especially considering I think my kids all look like their father since none of them take after me. Also, Doug isn’t really the type who appreciates a good, this kid looks just like your best friend, kind of gag!

What I’m really surprised by is that nobody commented on the exptremely progressive “My Two Dads” look that Doug and Greg had going on! 

4 Comments

  1. Sharleen said,

    Your last sentence made me laugh out loud! What an entertaining post. What an awkward situation! I’ve had people wonder if Isaac’s father (when I’m not with Warren) is African American, Asian or Indian! It’s always been kind of amusing to me that people think I must be married to someone who looks very different from myself to have produced Isaac. I always respond that my husband looks basically like me!
    BTW, SOOOOOOO great to see you all last weekend. Too bad we couldn’t play more!

  2. Christina said,

    Too funny!

    Is William’s hair getting darker – it looks black in that picture?

  3. ingrid said,

    So which son did someone think looked like Greg? This post was rather amusing, Sarah. And I actually think your first born and your most recent born look quite like you!

    I get asked quite often if I am a nanny to 3 of the 4 children I have birthed. Can you guess who people think is my sole child?

    And SO sad to miss the fun crawfish boil last weekend! I’m anxiously awaiting a crawfish post…

  4. Nisa said,

    There is something in William that always reminds me of Joshua. So there must be something of you in him, so that he resembles your sister’s son as well. But then maybe I’m just seeing stuff.

    On the other hand, I wish that our children looked like their father. He gets strange looks in the grocery store walking along with our bleach blond girl and dishwater blond boy. Hmmm. I guess black and brown make blond?

Leave a Reply

