It’s 6:36 am; do you know where your endorphins are?

June 17, 2008 at 7:12 am (Why I'm crazy) ()

Today was the first day of an enrichment group involving fitness. I was thinking it would be a good way to get in some light excercise and have some fun chatting. I should’ve known when the sign-up sheet said that we were meeting at 5:50 AM!!

So, this morning I am met by this:

I swear to you it is Elle Woods, and she’s already pumped because she ran a mile to warm up for the group. I should have bolted right then and there, but I thought hey, I can’t be the slowest one here, and even if I am, no one is timing us. WRONG! No, no, today we were being timed. That’s right, we were getting a baseline for our mile and our max sit-up and max push-up.

I am not ashamed. My mile was 13:57. You may be laughing, but hey, at least I showed up. There were 11 people who signed up for this group and only 3 of those people showed up. And hey, how hard is it going to be for me to improve upon 13:57. Also, know that I didn’t actually run the whole mile… obviously! It’s also kind of embarassing that there is someone assigned to pick up the rear, and that person is hanging out with you pretty much the entire time.

Also, apparently you have to do this more than once a week to actually see results. I feel I was mislead. I was just looking for some chit chat away from the kids. Now, I can’t not show up next week or else it’ll look like I am a quitter. Oh the dilemma of wanting to be a quitter, but being too prideful to let anyone think I quit!

And seriously, how can people be that happy before breakfast?

7 Comments

  1. Charlotte said,

    my mile is about the same as yours! don’t even ask me to do the sit-ups or pull-ups (aren’t those diapers?) good luck in the future.

  2. Warren said,

    I’m actually totally jealous that you have an early morning exercise group. My ward has kickboxing from 9-10am (which is an AWESOME class). However, I totally miss running in the morning (my running buddy just had twins and won’t run with me anymore . . . what a slacker! :)). It’s easier to run with out all that food in me! I’m totally proud of you Sarah!

  3. Nisa Hunt said,

    Just tell them that you run better alone, so you are managing your own fitness routine! It includes twice as many sit-ups (to get cookies) and push-ups (you know those frozen push pops)! And that you are working towards a five minute mile – they don’t need to know that you mean in your car. hehe

  4. Christina said,

    You’re funny! I hope you stick with it – sounds like it could be fun!

  5. dixie dunn said,

    She does kind look like Elle Woods huh?
    What can I say? Do you need Swiss Rolls?

  6. ingrid said,

    Oh, your posts always bring a smile to my face! I’m super impressed that you did this, Sarah, and at 5:50 AM?!?!?!?!?!! I’ve been increading the treadmill time over here in efforts to work off those last baby pounds before the big Roberts BEACH reunion this summer, and it is a major challenge at any time of the day!

    Let’s do the Disney Half Marathon next year, Sarah..the perfect excuse for a Roberts Disney Retreat!

  7. courtney said,

    Actually, I think she looks like Kristen Chenoweth, but I see Elle Woods too. This is actually a group i’d sign up for if I didn’t have an extra 30lbs strapped to my torso. Don’t quit. You have to keep the group alive for me so when I need support getting this baby weight off in a couple of months, i’ll have someone to walk…uh..i mean run with. I’ll chit chat with you. We’ll up the rear together 🙂

Leave a Reply

