The Funeral

July 9, 2008 at 2:57 pm (Family)

 

Me and my siblings

Okay, I realise that yesterday’s post came off, perhaps, a bit more snarky than I had intended. Also, I failed to mention that it was my sister’s birthday. So many lapses in judgement! Oh well, I’m going to attribute my snarkiness to the fact that the workout group changed their time to 5:30 am. That’s right, I made it! If they want to get rid of me they’re going to have to do more than change the time!

But I digress. The point of this post is to tell you about my grandfather’s funeral. Funeral’s are a funny thing. They can be the most heart- wrenchingly sad experiences, or they can be a very joyful occasion. I am very happy to say that my grandfather’s funeral fell into the latter category. It truly was a celebration of his life. It was especially wonderful for me to hear new stories (not all of which are fit to print here!), and get some insight into who the man was before I ever knew him.

Peter Power at the cemetery

More than once I have found myself wondering what exactly it was about my grandfather that my grandmother found so attractive, so it was nice to hear about some of his more tender attributes. One of the most beautiful parts of the funeral was my Uncle Gary and his band, The Hopping Penguins, singing Amazing Grace. I have tried to find some sort of YouTube clip so that you should see the HP’s in all their glory, but alas I couldn’t find anything. Just when I think I know the internet!

Anyway, this is just to say that I think that a funeral can be a wonderful time to see family and find some closure. This is also a time when I am extremely grateful for my faith. Somehow, death is not so final when you know that there is more to come. 

My Mom and her siblings

3 Comments

  1. ingrid said,

    Beautiful and quite touching.

  2. Christina said,

    Thanks for the mention and the belly shot! It was fun to be with you and sweet baby Ben – I can’t believe he put up with our running all over the city!

  3. Michelle said,

    I would love to hear the story of how you and your husband met.

Leave a Reply

