Before and after: the haircut

July 16, 2008 at 4:32 pm (before and after)

There comes a time in every boy’s life where he has to stop being told how “pretty she is.” This time has now officially come for Benjamin. We have a big party to attend this week-end, and if one more person tells me how pretty my little girl is, I might be forced to say something that some might construe as “impolite.”

I hate the first haircut. This is where the baby turns into an actual little boy who is now ready for Tonka trucks and swords. I know one day I’ll look back upon these moments with fondness, but not today. Today I’m just sad because I don’t know if my little boy’s curls are ever coming back.

9 Comments

  1. Mom said,

    Where did Benjamin go ?

  2. Trisha said,

    That is so wrong…stupid people, little boys dressed in blue, and overalls, and boy stuff, and still called girls…he looks WAY TOO BIG!! But hey, his cheeks look even squishier now! That’s a plus.

  3. Nisa said,

    oh he does look so handsome. He has such beautiful color hair. I always buzzed my Nathan and never thought much about it. But when he was four and five I let his hair grow out so long so that I could relive the baby days that I missed. Maybe it isn’t the end of the curls forever for you.

  4. Amy Macdonald said,

    You are so right about him looking like a little boy now, and not so much like a baby BOY! I can’t believe that people called him a girl. But man, is he cute! Well done Sarah and Doug!

  5. Christina said,

    He looks so different! All grown up!

  6. Warren said,

    I think he looks a lot more like William with that haircut. He looks cute either way, but I’m all for the short hair look. I LOVE giving Isaac haircuts.

  7. liz said,

    Cute, cute. I can’t believe I’ve never seen that kid. I hadn’t realized he was so fair. My Benjamin had some little curls too, and I remember the day when Matt thought it was too much for a boy and wanted to cut them off. Sniffle.

  8. courtney said,

    My little brother Kyle had beautiful curls that my mom refused to cut. They cascaded down to his shoulders and people in the supermarket would say how cute my “little sister” is. That was till the day we went to visit family in Mississippi and a distant aunt or cousin who groomed animals thought it would be a good idea to cut Kyle’s hair (without my parent’s permission). I remember riding home in our big blue van; all of us staring at Kyle like he were some stranger, missing his curls. He used to fall asleep twirling his curls in his fingers. Like an amputee, he’d twirl the ghost of his hair and occasionally my mom’s hair as he slept. I remembered this as we cut Sadie’s hair for the first time two weeks ago. Its hard. Its a defining moment.

  9. greg said,

    Cute!

Leave a Reply

