Look who’s 1!

August 6, 2008 at 11:14 am (Kids)

 

 

It’s hard to believe that it’s been over a year since our youngest boy came home with us. I would like to report on all of his teeth and his walking skills, and how big he is, but I’ll save that for the day that he actually has more than one tooth, is big, and can walk! I think he likes having his older brothers do everything for him, and I’m in no hurry to have him walking while we’re in Florida. The less mobile he is, the better! He is definitley the smallest of the three boys, but I’m hoping that will change by his 15 month check up. He seems to be eating a lot more, and he finally seems to understand the sippy cup.

I decided to make this cake because I couldn’t deal with the selt-imposed guilt of the store bought cake. This time though, I was smart and just made an individual cake plus cup cakes. This may be my new birthday strategy. I was pretty pleased with how it turned out, except for the fact that forgot to level off the bottom, and so I spent a good deal of time trying to keep the cake from falling over.
 
The big brothers celebrating
The big brothers celebrating

As parties go, this one was pretty low key. Just the family, one gift and a lovely rendintion of Happy Birthday. I’m trying not to take it too personally that Ben’s was the only birthday not to make it into the family blog, but I can’t be too upset since it took me over a week to post about it here! (Thanks Charlotte!) Kudos to Ingrid though for calling and wishing him a happy birthday! One is a tough year to really call since obviously the birthday boy’s participation is limited to drooling all over the phone!

 

So, here’s to another great year. Hopefully the cake will be a little less messy at party #2!

7 Comments

  1. dixie dunn said,

    wow to the bear cake! You rock. Just remember… don’t set the bar too high! How many more years until he moves out? Are you really up to making a bear cake every year for 17 years? 🙂

  2. Warren said,

    Great job on the cake. I don’t know if I’ll ever venture into the world of 3D cakes . . . Benjamin messy cake pic is classic!

  3. Charlotte said,

    Hey, thanks for the reminder. I really don’t have a good excuse, except I forgot to check my list. Thank goodness blogging lets you post whatever date you want (BTW, benjamin is not the only one I have done that with). Plus, anyone can post to that blog…Anyway, sorry (please don’t take it personal).
    Cute cake by the way, how big was it? it’s hard to tell. You gotta love the messy pictures. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Aimee said,

    First birthdays are always fun! Too bad we don’t live closer. I wish you could teach me how to decorate cakes. Fun pics and happy belated birthday to the little guy! Soon ya’ll soon.

  5. courtney said,

    Wow! He’s one! Happy Birthday little guy. Good job with the cake annihilation Ben. And good job to you, Sarah, on making the cake.

  6. ingrid said,

    Sarah, that cake is awesome! I love it!!! At the reunion, Andrew and Benjamin can crawl away together in the sand! No walking here yet either… 🙂

  7. Christina said,

    Ben is getting so big! Lovely cake.

Leave a Reply

