Why we serve

August 10, 2008 at 9:38 pm (Makes me Smile)

30am, and the two girls on the right ha been up all night with the Breaking Dawn book!

This is part of our groupbefore we began. It's about 7:30am, and the two girls on the right ha been up all night with the Breaking Dawn book!

A couple of months ago a sign up was passed around RS for Habitat for Humanity. Since I’m always looking for new things to blog about, I signed up. It was going to be a full day of manual labor … in August … in Texas. The sign up was only for the ladies so I didn’t have to worry about embarrassing myself too badly. It was on a Saturday, so I didn’t have to worry about finding a sitter.

Because we’re oh so environmentally friendly, we carpooled to the location south of downtown. At least I think it was south of downtown, I get turned around without the gps! It turns out that this location was a whole Habitat neighborhood. There mut have been at least thirty houses; some long finished, and others just begun.

It turns out that we showed up for landscaping day. I had kind of been looking forward to building walls, but it is probably better for the people living in the house that I only cleared rocks and laid sod!

This is the fancy checkerboard sod pattern.

This is the fancy checkerboard sod pattern.

Because we were landscaping we were finished at lunch. While we were eating we got to talk to a family who was volunteering their hours because they were actually getting a house. They told us about the different requirements, and a gentleman told us about how Habitat had changed his whole life.

The whole thing was a really rewarding experience for me, and I would encourage you all to go and try to serve in a new way. You might pick up a new skill, or just enjoy some new company. It also doesn’t hurt the eyes to be working with these folks:

I'm just saying, no one at my high school looked like this!

I'm just saying, no one at my high school looked like this!

Maybe next week I’ll share why I like to tour the fire station with the play group!

2 Comments

  1. Trisha said,

    You ROCK!! Right on, way to be there. What an awesome experience. Ok, and by the way you are officially old and not at all allowed to notice the teenagers. It’s just creepy!! I know this because when I noticed one at the pool Charlie told me I was gross!

  2. ingrid said,

    Inspiring, Sarah.

    You didn’t have teenagers like that at your high school? That’s because all the Roberts boys were at Baton Rouge High!

Leave a Reply

