On Being Prepared

September 10, 2008 at 12:01 pm (Random Thoughts)

I’m worried that someone is trying to tell me something. About six months ago I became the ward Emergency Preparedness person. This freaked Doug out a little bit because he thought that we needed to be prepared for something. So I started on my merry way working on surveys and a 5th Sunday presentation on the church’s new approach to food storage.

Then, Doug’s dad got the same calling. Then, my dad got the same calling. What am I supposed to make of all this? Then, the final straw: a box arrived at my house with some embroidered towels for the boys. This was a wonderful gift from my Aunt Rozanne (whose virtues need to be extolled in a whole separate post). While the boys were running around the house with their personalized towels I noticed something in the bottom of the box. It was this:

Along with the lamp came an explanation of the Parable of the Ten Virgins along with different ways that we might prepare ourselves. Enough said! I heard you loud and clear! I have taken the hint!

Now, I don’t know exactly what I’m supposed to be preparing for, but I take some comfort in the fact that doing something is better than doing nothing. So, on the day the lamp came, I ordered a year’s supply of rice. I figure that I can work on this little by little and eventually I will be fully prepared.

And just in case you think that my rice supply has lulled me into a false sense of security, this morning I woke to a warning of this:

 

I’m not reall worried where we are, but we don’t very often see the map actually involve our neck of the woods. I’m making sure I know where all the flashlights are … just in case!

 

    

4 Comments

  1. ingrid said,

    So where did you order your year’s supply of rice from? Way to be prepared, Sarah!!!

  2. Warren said,

    Yum! Rice cakes, rice pudding, rice slurry, rice paste, . . . . what more could you want???
    This is a good reminder for us. We are slowly collecting our food storage and emergency preparedness items. Maybe too slowly . . .

  3. Nisa said,

    Hey, I need to call you. We have the same calling. I taught a course on food storage and er prep for a year last year. But prep and supply collection was different in Idaho. I could use some ideas.

  4. anne said,

    My food storage is just barely getting started. Well not really that great. I found my favorite lemonade (santa cruz, typically $3+ for one) for $.88 so I came home with like 20 bottles and put them in our pantry. Taylor had a good laugh at my attempt at food storage. 😉

Leave a Reply

