Making Whoopie (of the Banana Cookie Variety)

September 11, 2008 at 4:59 pm (Food)

These are actually the very cookies I made!

These are actually the very cookies I made!

So, today I have been in the mood to use the kitchen. I prepare myself for potential power outages by making sure that we have more than enough sweets on hand. First I made some spaghetti sauce because Samuel has been asking for it, “all year long” (he gets his tendency to exaggerate from his father!). After the spaghetti, I though we could use some bread. I made this rosemary loaf, which hasn’t failed me yet. Very yummy, and the girl is a Bosch lover, which just made me that much happier.

After dinner was done, I decided to get all crazy and make Martha’s cookie of the month. Oddly enough I didn’t even think that the cookies sounded that good, but I was in a mood. Well, I’m not too proud to admit when I’m wrong. These cookies are fantastic! Benjamin and I are sitting here eating them as I write.

They were not difficult and they required no crazy ingredients. I would even go so far as to say that they might be a litle bit healthy because they contain an actual banana. So, here’s the recipe, with my notes following:

Banana Whoopie Pies ( Martha Stewart Living Sept. 2008)

 

2 cups all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

½ cup mashed banana,from 1 large ripe banana

½ cup sour cream

4 ounces unsalted butter, softened (1 stick)

½ cup granulated sugar

½ cup packed light-brown sugar

1 large egg

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract, divided

16 oz. cream cheese, softened

1 cup confectioners’ sugar plus more for dusting

 

Preheat oven to 350°. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment. Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a bowl. Combine banana and sour cream in another bowl. Beat butter and granulated and brown sugars with a mixer on medium-high speed, until pale and creamy, about 3 minutes. Add egg and ½ teaspoon vanilla, beating until incorporated. Add banana mixture in two additions, alternating with flour mixture. Transfer batter to a pastry bag fitted with a ¼-inch plain tip. Pipe batter in 1¼-inch rounds on baking sheets, spacing rounds 1½ inches apart. Bake until edges are golden, about 12 minutes. Slide parchment, with cookies, onto wire racks. Let cool. Unfilled cookies can be stored up to 1 day. Beat cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar, and remaining ½ teaspoon vanilla with a mixer on medium speed until smooth, about 2 minutes. Pipe or spoon 1 tablespoon cream mixture onto the flat sides of half of the cookies. Sandwich with remaining cookies. Dust with confectioners’ sugar, and serve immediately.

 

Now, I wouldn’t bother piping the batter. If you have a small ice cream scoop it works really well and all of the cookies are uniform.

I also don’t know that I would make the cream cheese frosting again. I think a plain white, or a milk chocolate  would be very nice.

The parchment paper is an excellent idea though. These are pretty much tiny little cakes and it would be a lot of aggravation to be pulling them up.

I don’t know who did the yield for this, but it in no way makes 36 sandwiches, of course that could be because I ate most of them before I made the icing!!

Alrighty, go forth and make some Whoopie!!

 

9 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    You make me laugh!

    And I second the recommendation for the Rosemary Bread – we love it!

  2. Trisha said,

    Honestly Sarah!! You are not the girl I knew in Utah, really making whoopie of any kind is not appropriate!! The inuendo!! REALLY! These sound….well to be honest…I passed the recipe right by cause I thought they sounded lame. But I trust you so I will try them!

  3. Amy F. said,

    I saw that recipe in Martha’s magazine and thought they looked pretty good, but I was turned off (sticking with the “whoopie” theme) by having to use a piping bag. Thanks for testing the recipe for me! See ya, my “little Martha”.

  4. dixie dunn said,

    (I have no idea what to write, I am just sitting here with a smile on my face…) Oh the places I could go with this whoopie theme! Oh, thanks so very much my dear. Everyone needs a Sarah in their life. I am so glad you are my Sarah and that I got a second chance even though I was a house snob before – still am. Whatever.

  5. Charlotte said,

    They do look good. They kind of remind me of a banana moon pie, only 100 times better. You have a talent for making things look good–luv the picture.
    Good luck with the upcoming storm, I would have to make sure I had plenty of sweets on hand too!

  6. Warren said,

    They sound yum! I just need to get some cream cheese and I’m set!

  7. Nisa Hunt said,

    YUM! Can’t we just come over and eat yours?

  8. ingrid said,

    They do look yummy! I am trying to figure out what I would substitute sour cream for, for my dairy allergic child…any suggestions?!?!

  9. andrea said,

    I just made these-they are great. Kaitlyn told me next time I should add some nuts. I think I will try it. I also did not make them as whoopie pies. I just made the cookie and intended to make the icing and put it on top but the kids are really enjoying them without the icing so maybe I’ll just skip it until next time

Leave a Reply

