A Lesson in Humility

September 16, 2008 at 9:42 am (Food, recipes)

The Aftermath

The Aftermath

For the most part I think I’m a pretty good cook. We try and eat at home at least six night a week (lately it’s been 7 because we’re saving for a new toy), and I think dinner usually goes well. I don’t now what’s happened, but my dinner mojo seems to be failing me!

Last night I was making the very delicious Cindy’s Tasty Wings.I don’t know who Cindy is, but I love her wings! We make these at least twice a month, and I’ve never had a problem. It’s basic and delicious. Then last night, disaster struck. The problem occurred when we used fresh instead of frozen wings. It threw me off. If you’re going to make this recipe ( and I highly recommend that you do), make sure to go and buy the frozen party wings from Costco.  Anyway, back to last night, the wings didn’t get thouroughly cooked. It was disgusting. Doug tried to salvage the evening by cooking everything on the stove, but by then I’d lost my appetite!

Oddly enough, one of my other major cooking disasters also involved chicken wings. When we were first married, I made my mother’s chicken wing recipe, but I misread the cooking time (darn that flourescent pink pen!), and I had them in the oven at 500 degrees for four hours! Whatever, I overcame.

Then came today’s fiasco. I spent all day yesterday making red beans and rice for dinner tonight. I made it yesterday because Doug prefers the meal after it has had time to properly thicken up, and apparently that only comes on the second day. It was all good. I was being very prepared. This way I was going to have dinner tonight with no fuss, and my kitchen would stay clean.

Unfortunately, when I woke up this morning, the pot of bean was still on the stove … mocking me … delighting in my fatigue from the night before! In all my preparations, I forgot to put the pot in the fridge! I stayed up until 11:00 so that everything would be fully cooked. Then I took turned the stove off, and thought it should cool for ten minutes before it went in the fridge.Then I sat down and played a game of Tetris, then I went to sleep.

I woke up this morning and the first thing I thought was, “Crap!” And that was it. A quick call to Doug, “Oh yeah, I wondered why you had left the pot out all night.” At first, he just said that if I let it boil for a while it should be okay, but then further research was done and the whole pot was disposed of. Kind of a depressing start to the day, but now it’s time to regroup and focus. The hunt is on for something quick and easy for dinner that will not require a trip to the store. I’m considering using this recipe from Liz. I actually have all the ingredients on hand. Hopefully I won’t mess it up.

7 Comments

  1. liz said,

    You’re not pregnant again, are you? That sounds exactly like something I would do right now. Like the other day when Mary insisted that she should wear training pants and no diaper, even though she has yet to successfully place any pee-pee in the potty. And I forgot all about it and put her down for a nap. On my couch. I am sorry about your beans though — they looked like they would’ve been yummy.

  2. Warren said,

    I am so sorry Sarah. I definitely understand. I have messed up just about every recipe I’ve ever tried. Just last week I had to throw away a lot of food. So, I like to boil several pounds of chicken all at once and then shred it and bag it and freeze it. Makes my life simpler. Anyway, after thoroughly boiling the chicken, I picked up the lid and looked in the pan and saw BLUE stuff everywhere. I was so confused. I thought maybe a bit of the plastic bag the chicken came in got in there . . . ??? Our best guess, now, is that it was a piece of crayon. It was probably $8 worth of chicken or so. I was pretty discouraged and we haven’t had any chicken since. However, you’ve inspired me and maybe I’ll try cooking chicken again . . . and watch out for pieces of crayon that are missing from the crayon box and get thrown by my almost two year old into my pot of chicken!

  3. ingrid said,

    I am SO sorry! I wish I could hop on over and bring you a meal tonight to free you from having to clean your kitchen today!!!! Another reason why we should all live close! Want to join us for some ropa vieja this evening and stay for the week? 🙂

  4. Trisha said,

    Don’t you just hate it when that happens? I have to admit I do take comfort in the fact that I am not the only one to struggle with this problem! It always seems to be comfort food when it happens! I know lets just run away! To Ingrids for dinner, and I bet her kitchen stays cleaner then mine!!

  5. Greg said,

    “500 degrees for four hours”

    Cajun style eh? 😛

  6. Christina said,

    Sorry about the beans – I’m sure your dinner will turn out great!

  7. Nisa said,

    You should have sent them here. Brett would eat em.

Leave a Reply

