Grape Truffles

September 22, 2008 at 2:06 pm (Food, recipes)

They are almost healthy!

They are almost healthy!

 

Another week-end, another cooking class. This time it was just me and Andrea, because apparently the idea of a class devoted completely to lobster was repulsive to Dixie! Oh well, her loss. The lobster was great, but I think the best part of this class was the grape truffles. They are very easy and very tasty.

Grape Truffles:

Red Grapes (don’t use green because the color shows through)

Melted chocolate (buy something nice, it will make a difference)

Cocoa powder (again, try something nice)

Directions:

– wash and thouroughly dry the grapes, and place them in the freezer for 30 minutes.

– melt the chocolate and let it cool slightly.

– pour the chocolate over the grapes and mix by hand

– place the chocolate covered grapes on a cookie sheet and cover in cocoa. Shake the cookie sheet around so that the grapes are completely covered. Place in the fridge until ready to serve. They should last in the fridge for about five days.

– These need to be served chilled because that’s what keeps the chocolate hard.

 

Enjoy!

8 Comments

  1. ingrid said,

    I’m loving all these fun recipes, but I think I’m enjoying even more getting a glimpse into all your fun kitchenware! Love the bowl!

  2. Trisha said,

    OK, I am trusting that you know what you are talking about. Cause honestly I am not sure about this! BUT..I actually have everything on hand so I will get back to asap with my opinion.

  3. dixie dunn said,

    Oh, I’m in love. I could eat my weight in these. Maybe if they would have called it Grape Truffle class I would have gone. And hey, I really was just looking out for you and Andrea – a good friend doesn’t let you see them toss their lobster. That’s all I’m saying.

  4. Warren said,

    If only I would take cooking lessons and make something as pretty and tasty as your brownies and grape truffles! Warren’s actually lost weight since we got married cause someone’s cooking is wanting. *sigh* I think I might be able to manage these truffles. Baby steps . . .

  5. andrea said,

    I made these for my family after I got home saturday and they all devoured them. I had to make more sunday. I don’t think buying the second batch of grapes was too
    mUch. I just had to teach the kids to pop them in their mouths instead of trying to lick off the cocoa powder. Yuck. You always do such a great job of making your food look nice

    I am still waiting for the post from doug’s hurricane clean up 😉

  6. dixie dunn said,

    hey – I didn’t get to hear about Doug’s clean up. i got the ward counil version. I feel left out!

  7. sillyjillybean said,

    Funny but I do have a whole lot of grapes right now. But truthfully, ewww? I will have to try them because they don’t sound appealing.

  8. Charlotte said,

    Sarah, do you ever make the same thing twice? I swear your kitchen must never get boring, your blog sure isn’t.

Leave a Reply

