Some bad football mojo

November 14, 2008 at 2:48 pm (Road Trips)

dallasblog005 

Originally we had no intention of going to the BYU-TCU game. If we are going to spend our hard earned money on football, then it will be of the LSU variety! Some people from the neighborhood were organizing a trip, but Doug said no. then, his brother called and asked if we should all go. When Mike calls, Doug listens!

So, we headed up to Dallas. For this visit we lesft the house at 6:00am. This is my new plan for traveling through Austin. I think early morning is the way to go. We made it to Dallas in record time, and the kids slept for the first half of the trip.

The happy family!

The happy family!

We ended up arriving in Dallas before lunch. We had hoped to go to the Dallas Bureau of Engraving in Fort Worth, but we ended up waiting for the rest of our group to arrive. (Note to self, always add a cushion to Mike and Ingrid’s arrival time!!!)

We ended up leaving for the game at 4:00pm … not exactly conducive to beating the rush hour traffic. It took us 2 hours to get from Richardson to Fort Worth. We missed the BYU tailgate, the close parking, and the kick-off, but it was all worth it … well, it was worth it until the Cougars lost the longest winning streak in college football. They didn’t just lose the game, I don’t even think they showed up to play the game. Now, I don’t want to blame myself for this loss, so I’ll lay the blame with Mike and Ingrid! I don’t think they have good football mojo this season. After all, LSU lost to Florida while Mike and Ingrid were there. Maybe it’s just Mike, because a Florida win isn’t exactly a loss for Ingrid!

Notice all the purple pom poms!

Notice all the purple pom poms!

Ingrid was also working her charms at TCU. While waiting in line for corn dogs she was chatting up a TCU fan, and he ended up buying her a corn dog! I don’t know why he didn’t want to purchase my funnel cake, but I was a little insulted! Maybe he thought we would share since I told him that Ingrid was my sister wife!

This was also the first football game for Samuel and his cousin Ashley. (A big thanks to Granny and Grandpa for taking care of our other boys while we were at the game.) They seemed to get into the spirit, and were only a little bit upset by the fact that the cougars lost! They came away with a lot of TCU pom poms and that seemed to lift their spirits. Plus, how can you not enjoy a game where you get to eat hot dogs, BBQ and funnel cakes?

This was also the where we taught Samuel the importance of being a true fan. There is no leaving early just because your team in getting crushed. We stay to the very end. I know there are many “fans” who were there at the start of the game who were not there at the end. I’m not judging you, but …. !!! Plus, if we hadn’t stayed until the very end, we never would have seen people from Louisiana! (They were much easier to see with the cougar fan section completely empty!)

Notice all the empty seats

Notice all the empty seats

The day after the game we decided to take in some culture and go see the King Tut exhibit at the museum. The only downside of this was that there was no touching, and it was very crowded. Also, Doug had to read every sign and description, and I had three kids in tow (wait, maybe I only had two, I can’t even remember any more!) So, I finished the exhibit about a half an hour before Doug, and I think we rushed him!

In the children's area of the museum

In the children

After the museum we headed off for lunch while the others headed to the American Girls store. Friday night we headed over to Dan and Amy’s for pizza and visiting with cousins.

On Saturday Doug and his dad worked on computer stuff and I took the boys to a yard sale! I also headed to the mall because the salesperson left the security tag on my $6 pair of pants. I probably spent more in gas because I got caught in Race for the Cure traffic! Oh well, all in all it was an excellent week-end.

We left after lunch on Saturday so that we could pick my mom up from the airport. Stay tuned for the rest of the story…!!

2 Comments

  1. dixie dunn said,

    I don’t know if I should be depressed or livid that you brought up the game after the wounds were healing or if I should just thank my lucky stars that you have come back to reality are answering my calls and emails and started blogging again. I’m a complete mix of emotions over this post. Post soemthing else, and quickly.

  2. ingrid said,

    Hmmm…I was not aware that you were waiting for us to go to Fort Worth for the Dallas Bureau of Engraving. I thought you had that planned for the following day, but changed your minds to not go?!?! We thought y’all knew we were not arriving until 2 pm! Obviously some communication breakdown here…sorry! Anyhow, please add cushion in the future…then you will be delightfully surprised when (or if!) we arrive on time! Our lucky stars are not working out this year for football, but the company was worth it (although those Gators are still going strong for the SEC and could possibly go home national champs!!!) BTW, that “free” corn dog was most likely because I told the gentleman I was expecting twins and yes, because I am SOOOO charming! He knew I needed the extra nutrition from a good ol’ corn dog!

Leave a Reply

