A Visit from Mom

November 20, 2008 at 12:31 pm (Family, Fun Stuff)

Grandma and the boys

Grandma and the boys

…. The lost month continues …

So, after a busy Saturday morning in Dallas, we headed home so that I could go pick up my mom from the airport. She was coming from the Seattle area where she had been visiting my sister and my new niece, Eliza (here is where I should post a picture of Eliza’s cuteness, but I’m too lazy! If you want to see how cute she is, just click on my sister’s link).

I think, sometimes my mother underestimates the toll that travelling back and forth across the country can take on a person. She was with my sister for a week, then she was here for a few days, and then she headed to Vegas, before heading back to Nova Scotia. That’s a whole lot of criss-crossing the nation!

But, we take whatever we can get. Now that my mom has moved back to Canada we don’t get to visit as much as we did when she was in Phoenix.

William and Grandma

William and Grandma

So, one of the problems with not keeping up to date is that I can hardly remember what we did! I know there was a Sunday involved, so that means relaxing. There was  a trip to the book store and lunches out. Samuel’s birthday was on the Tuesday, and there was a trip to Build a Bear for Grandma and Samuel. I think we headed out browsing at the mall on the Monday night after the kids went to bed. My mom even scrubbed my entry way floor where one of the boys exploded a can of ginger-ale!

Birthday cupcakes

Birthday cupcakes

Samuel’s birthday was definitely the highlight of the visit. He had been planning it for a very long time. This was the big 5. His idea was a day where he could do whatever he wanted. That included Chuck E. Cheese’s, Krispy Kreme (even if the hot light wasn’t on), a special lunch with just him and his dad, and ravioli for dinner. It was a full day, but I think he had a lot of fun. I know there were presents, but right now I can’t remember what we got him!  Also, Samuel’s big announcement this year was that, because he is now five, he no longer as to tell us when he has to go to the bathroom. He’s just going to go!

krispy kreme should pay us for this!

krispy kreme should pay us for this!

A visit from my mom always means late nights visiting. Unfortunately, I spent extra time after everyone went to bed trying to beat Ingrid at Tetris (hopefully I’ll be able to the kick the habit soon!), which meant that I was extra tired in the mornings!

William watching the doughnuts

William watching the doughnuts

 

We can’t wait for grandma to visit again. Stay tuned for the next installment of the missing month … a visit from dad!

3 Comments

  1. dixie dunn said,

    I’m so sad that I didn’t get to see your Mom while she was here.

  2. ingrid said,

    You really ought to join TA…Tetris Anonymous.

  3. ingrid said,

    I meant to right Tetrisaholics Anonymous

Leave a Reply

