How do you gauge “normal?”

November 24, 2008 at 3:55 pm (Doug Stuff, Family, Road Trips, What were they thinking?)

Date night at the Fair?

Date night at the Fair?

So, Doug decided that we weren’t going to waste another Saturday at home. It was time for some culture for our family, and nothing says culture like the Texas Renaissance Fair (or is it Faire? I can never be sure sure!).

Turkey legs & suasage on a stick

Turkey legs & suasage on a stick

I was expecting funnel cakes and turkey legs, but I didn’t know it would be a worldwide celebration spanning centuries!

After the funnel cake

After the funnel cake

 

My sister Jessica loves this stuff, and I have to say that after spending a day at the fair I am seriously worried about her! Maybe it was the fact that we were there for Invasion of the Barbarians week-end! You have to wonder how Shakespeare completely comes together with Luana from 1,000,000 years B.C.

Jessica's prom date?

Jessica

(Clearly that’s not Jessica. I  meant to write “Jessica’s Prom Date!)

There were lots of fun things to do. The boys enjoyed the bows and arrows, and Doug liked the axe throwing. There was also a maze and some jousting. The best part for the kids was the Children’s School of Swords. There was a hands on tutorial with a certificate of completion at the end. This was one of the rare free activities, and Samuel had a great time.

My little Robin Hood

My little Robin Hood

It was disturbing how many teenagers there were who dressed completely inappropriately. I can’t imagine if I was there on a date with someone I hardly knew(Doug actually took a girl there on a date once. It didn’t end well … for her!). 

I have no words

I have no words

 

There were some similarities with the French Quarter at Mardi Gras. For instance, just because you can wear a particular costume doesn’t mean that you should wear that costume; time affects everyone. Also, the fair is a fun day, it probably shouldn’t be a whole lifestyle choice. Some people were taking this whole thing very seriously! I mean complete leather outfits and dog collars seriously!

Sword School

Sword School

I’m trying to decide if this is something we’re going to do again next year. It might be more fun with a whole group of people, but then we would have to share the mortification! If we do go again I think we’ll choose the Celtic Christmas week-end.

At one of the many wedding chapels

At one of the many wedding chapels

P.S. Greg, this is why you need to move to Texas. Doesn’t it look like more fun than your week-end?!

6 Comments

  1. Warren said,

    OK, so moving to granola country was definitely a change for us. I’m thinking TX might be more than we could handle! 🙂

  2. Christina said,

    You are too funny!

  3. dixie dunn said,

    wash your eyes out with soap!!!! And Doug’s. And the boys! How could you – you – you mother you! (not really, my life with out Sarah is just dull. Lets go to the cannery.) 🙂

  4. ingrid said,

    Wow!

  5. anna said,

    We so want to go with you next year. Let’s dress the kids up too. 🙂

  6. des said,

    Your commentary is hilarious! Your right it shouldn’t be a life choice. I will put down my swords and leather thong right now!

Leave a Reply

