Back to Mardi Gras

March 10, 2009 at 2:43 pm (Family, Road Trips)

The family at Endymion

The family at Endymion

I wasn’t quite sure how I felt about returning to Louisiana for Mardi Gras considering that my eyes are still burning from last year’s visit to the French Quarter, but we decided to brave the crowds and go hang out with some family.

The most romantic couple in the world!

The most romantic couple in the world!

This year we avoided the French Quarter at night. We did venture in for brunch with all the sisters-in-law at Brennan’s, but I figured we’d be safe at noon on a Saturday! There was some stuff getting started, but it was pretty tame compared with last year. Apparently the drinking starts early, but the nudity doesn’t happen until after sundown!  The brunch was a little pricey, but the cost was worth it for the great company of 3 of my 5 sisters-in-law (By 5, I mean all the girls that are married to the brothers. If I’m counting sisters, that brings the number up to 8! Thanks for reminding me, Charlotte!). Maybe we’ll get to do another luncheon some time in the not too distant future!!

Ingrid, Me, Han and Aimee at Brennan's

Ingrid, Me, Han and Aimee at Brennan's

This was a pretty quick trip for us. We left for Baton Rouge on Friday afternoon and we drove back on Monday morning. I don’t know if my body, in its current enlarged state, is designed to handle 18 hours of driving in three days!

Waiting for the parade to start

Waiting for the parade to start

On Saturday we made our way to New Orleans for brunch and a parade. I won’t lie, the whole thing kind of creeps me out, but the boys loves getting their beads and stuffed animals. This year we were privileged to see Kid Rock and REO Speedwagon. Ah … the entertainment value alone!

The boys enjoying the parade

The boys enjoying the parade

 

On Sunday we went to church and then for a quick visit to see Mike, the Tiger. This was by far the most active I have ever seen the tiger. Ben was completely enthralled. after church we headed back to grandma and grand-dad’s for lunch, a quick nap and some King Cake, courtesy of Daniel and Han. And, guess who found the baby? That’s right, yours truly … my winning streak continues! Although I don’t know if it’s really winning if you are the one who has to buy the next cake! Sunday night I enjoyed the Oscar telecast. I think I definitely prefer it with the DVR!

The boys hanging out at LSU

The boys hanging out at LSU

Monday morning we packed up, had a quick visit, and headed home. We were all a little tired from staying up until three o’clock in the morning visiting with all the siblings! I think it took us the whole week to recover from that trip!

Sauel and Mike

Sauel and Mike

We may have to alter the schedule a bit for the next trip. I don’t know if I can’ handle all the late nights and long drives over one week-end. Maybe we’ll add a couple of extra days so that we can have some more down time! When did I get to be so old and such a huge fan of down time?! 

The whole family at Mike's house!

The whole family at Mike's house!

6 Comments

  1. Megan Hulihan Abbott said,

    so fun! I want to go there!

  2. Warren said,

    The boys look adorable! Sounds like you all had a great time. Wow! That is too much driving for me in three days’ time. I get carsick really easily though . . .

  3. Charlotte said,

    Ahem…just wondering where I fit in in that sister-in-law count??? 😀
    It’s looks like y’all had fun! Wish I could have been there.
    BTW, cute belly!

  4. DJo said,

    great post! Love the pix!

  5. Nisa Hunt said,

    Look at all those handsome boys!!!

  6. Greg said,

    Note to self . . french quarter after sundown

Leave a Reply

