Just that kind of day

March 12, 2009 at 4:19 pm (Food, recipes, Things I love)

Last week it was in the 90’s here. In fact, I’m still suffering the effects of my first sunburn since since high school!Today, however is a different story. It’s about fifty degrees and rainy. I love this kind of weather, and because it’s rare to have this kind of day where we live, I’m trying my best to live it up. So, I thought I’d share a couple of things that this kind of weather puts me in the mood for:

1. Hot Chocolate

Best invention ever!!

Best invention ever!!

I know what you’re thinking, that is the most ridiculous thing ever. Who in their right mind would pay good money for something that you can get by just boiling water in the microwave? Trust me, I know where you’re coming from. I thought the same thing the first time I saw this in the Bed Bath and Beyond circular, but then we tried it out at Doug’s sister’s house.  So, before you get all judgemental, hear me out. The Cocoa Latte works not only with water, but also with milk. This makes a much better hot chocolate, in my opinion. Also, there’s no pesky stirring involved. You put in the milk and cocoa and you turn it on. That’s it. The thing starts spinning and heating. It turns off when it gets to the rght temperature, and if it starts to get too cool, it turns right back on. There’s also a froth feature so you can feel like you paid $3.00 for that cocoa at Starbucks!

Many people mocked my attachment to the Cocoa Latte, but a lot of those same people went on to purchase their own after sampling the joy at our house!

#2. The Homemade Marshmallow:

Nothing beats homemade!

Nothing beats homemade!

The hot shocolate is just fine on its own, but if you’re looking for a little something extra, go ahead and try making your own marshmallows. It’s not difficult, and the results are very rewarding. I usually just google for a recipe, but I really like this site. Feel free to embellish your marshmallows with different colors and different flavors. You may not want to make them every time, but if you’re looking for something special, I’d give it a try.

* In the interest of full disclosure, we took these pictures a couple of months ago. This is what I’m in the mood for today, but I didn’t actually get around to it today!

3 Comments

  1. Warren said,

    Sorry about the sunburn! But, 90s, hmmmm I go for that for a week! Oh, except we don’t have A/C! Anyway, my sister has one of those cocoa lattes and they ARE amazing. I have never had homemade marshmallows but you’ve made me very curious.

  2. ingrid said,

    YUM! I too was introduced to the cocoa latte and the homemade marshmallows in Dallas. YUM! YUM! YUM! So will this be the treat of choice when we come to visit?

  3. DJo said,

    Still sunburned? Mine is mostly gone. Minimal peeling.

    We used our Cocoa Latte yesterday. I have to say I think one too many Mother-in-law washings may have done it in… It works, but it’s doing it best to, not quietly. (It moans and groans)

    And yes, I did turn on the furnace!

Leave a Reply

