588

March 13, 2009 at 1:26 pm (Grrr!, It's a Girl)

588 – That’s how many times the nurse at the perinatologists office wanted me to prick my finger during the remaining 12 weeks of my pregnancy!

Just one of many!

Just one of many!

 

So, it has been a week since my first visit to the new peri-natologist. I knew I wasn’t going to return to the one from my last pregnancy, but my hopes of this new doctor being totally awesome and relaxed have been dashed. For one, they want me to check my sugars 7 times a day instead of the 4 times that I previously did not enjoy. I’m somewhat  convinced that this is a ploy from the glucose monitor people to force  me to buy even more test strips!

On the positive side, this office is way closer to me, and I’ve been able to coordinate my appointments with my regular OB check-ups, so it’s not so much back and forth. Also, this doctor has a fancy 3-d ultra-sound machine. So, I was able to confirm that this new arrival will, in fact, be a girl (I have yet to buy anything because I was in denial!), but I was also able to determine that the baby isn’t all that cute … yet! I think the features will improve when she weighs more than 3 pounds!

So, I’m back on the gestational diabetes diet. 2200 calories a day of high protein/ low carb goodness! Eleven weeks left, then I can get back to to the mashed potatoes that I love! On the plus side, this does tend to keep the extra, ice cream induced, weight off for the last few weeks of the pregnancy!

On the ironic side of things, this particular doctor keeps a wonderful array of hot chocolate available in her waiting room. If you prick me, do I not bleed?! 

Just in case you’re wondering, the number on my monitor was after dinner, and it was 80, and that makes me a gestational diabetes rock star!

5 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    You are definitely a rock star!

  2. ingrid said,

    I agree. You are a rock star.

  3. Nisa Hunt said,

    Congratulations! ITS A GIRL!!!! YEAH!! ALL OVER AGAIN!
    And yes. I concur. Rock Star All The Way!

  4. Trisha said,

    You are rockin’ hot girl!!! Keep it up. After you can indulge in all the mashed potatoes you heart desires!!!! Now go spend some of that girl budget I know you have set aside!! Something pink to cheer you up!!!

  5. Warren said,

    I am so sorry! No fun. At least the diet is temporary!

Leave a Reply

