Before and After: The Forehead

March 15, 2009 at 7:50 pm (before and after)

I’ve marvelled the last few years how our children have managed to escape, relatively unscathed,  from their various wrestling matches, tumbles down the stairs, and running with all kinds of sharp objects. Little did I know that our first trip to the Emergency Room would be the result of Samuel tripping on his way to pick up his brother’s shoes!

I always imagined myself being very cool in this type of situation. You know, the situation where your son runs screaming to you with his hand covering his forehead. Actually, I was fine for the running and screaming, it was when I pulled his hand away that I lost my composure a bit. Then, there was my husband requiring gauze, and me having to travel to the three different first aid locations around the house. I always thought I knew where everything was, but apparently my Cars Band-Aids were not suitable for the largest cut I had ever seen! Doug actually sat me down afterward and told me that I “needed to be calmer in these situations.” I’ll work on that for next time!

So, without further ado, here is my son with his beautiful forehead before:

My face is so beautiful!

My face is so beautiful!

Now, here he is after his 13 stitches. The only real trauma to him was that he couldn’t go to the gym that night. All was made better by the popsicle in the ER and the special trip to Krispy Kreme with his dad!

Krispy Kreme makes everything better!

Krispy Kreme makes everything better!

 

I have to give a special shout out to Ingrid who kept me distracted on the phone almost the whole time the boys were at the hospital. Doug believes she sensed a disturbance in the Force and responded accordingly! Whatever the reason, I’m just glad I had her to chat with!

You should stop reading here if you don’t want to see the fancy needlework!

You should see the other guy!

You should see the other guy!

7 Comments

  1. Warren said,

    Wow! That is all Warren and I could say when we saw the 13 stitches! I guess the brightside is is that Samuel is already 5 1/2 and you have three boys and this is the FIRST visit to the ER. We’re on first-name bases with all the ER docs here . . . j/k. We have taken Isaac in a couple of times though. I’m glad that Doug was there and Ingrid was there for you on the phone. Thank heaven for popsicles and Krispy Kreme!

  2. Christina said,

    Oh my gosh! Poor kid – give him a hug from us!

  3. ingrid said,

    Samuel looks so happy with his Krispy Kreme hat! I’ve always liked his smile and his dimples. One day, his bride will find his battle scar quite endearing.

    I just did a post about popsicles. Intriguing… We’re starting to think alike! I’m glad we had our chat and that it helped distract you from worry. It was actually quite calming for me too. HUGS to all of you!

  4. Megan Hulihan Abbott said,

    CrazY! We have made it to the ER a few times, but never for a head wound! Those are THE worst! I would have freaked out too!

  5. Trisha said,

    Oh My! Samuel is a rock star! Girls love boys with scars. Now to you just have to help him make up a really good story. The truth is way to boring. That boy is getting way too handsome. Watch out girls!!!

  6. Trisha said,

    P.S. I would like to see how Doug reacts when he is large with child and DENIED SUGAR!!! Ah huh!!! Just think about that for a minute! Props to you!

  7. Charlotte said,

    Samuel is looking so grown up and quite handsome even with his stitches!

Leave a Reply

