My Irish Eyes Were Smiling

March 17, 2009 at 11:16 pm (Family)

Long before I met my husband I had picked out the names for all my children. My first son was most definitely going to be named Seamus. Imagine the unpleasant surprise I experienced when I found out that Doug thought he should also have some say in the naming of our children! So far, still no Seamus at our house! One of Doug’s reasons for not liking Seamus was that he didn’t want to be a poseur. He’s in no way Irish. I however am Irish, even if it’s just 1/4. So, to celebrate my heritage today we had our traditional St. Patrick’s day feast. We cook this meal once a year, and today was the day!

Corned Beef, Potatoes & Cabbage

Corned Beef, Potatoes & Cabbage

Irish Soda Bread

Irish Soda Bread

I’m not going to pretend that dessert was traditional, but it did have some green! Don’t worry, the cupcakes were minis, so one didn’t hurt the blood sugar levels! 

Cupcakes!

Cupcakes!

Now it’s time to start preparing for Easter!

4 Comments

  1. Warren said,

    Sarah – truly you cook up some of the best looking/sounding stuff! I wish I could live near you and mooch (sp?)!

  2. ingrid said,

    Seamus? Wow! I did not even know you were 1/4 Irish! I prefer the alternate route you took naming your firstborn, by the way. Next year, I am booking a flight to your house for my St. Patrick’s Day feast!!!

  3. ingrid said,

    LOVE your serving dishes too.

  4. Christina said,

    Yum! You are such a fun mom.

    And I think that has to be the cutest cake plate ever!

Leave a Reply

