Introducing Afton Rose

May 24, 2009 at 10:29 pm (Family, It's a Girl)

AftonRose3

Well, last week was a very busy one, but without a doubt the highlight was the arrival of Miss Afton Rose. Although I was hoping she would come a little sooner so that her Aunt Christina and Grandma Ellen could have met her, I’m very glad she’s here now! I’m probably a little biased, but I think she’s the most beautiful thing ever! What is odd, is that Doug also thinks she’s super cute. It’s odd because she’s the spitting image of her brothers at two days old, and he always thought they were a little funny looking!

I was induced on Friday morning, and Afton joined us at 1:13 in the afternoon. I am very grateful to the in tune nurse who knew that I was worried about having the baby arrive with no one there. When she noticed that the heartbeat was gone off the monitor she came right away, and sure enough out fell the baby right then. Doug once again got pushed into action and had to bring in the cart from the hallway and flag down the doctor!

We went to a different hospital this time, and I was very impressed. It’s probably been the best hospital experience so far.  That said, who likes to hang out in the hospital, so I came home yesterday so that I could relax properly!!

If you’re wondering about the name, all I can say is that we agreed on it, and that seems like enough! My grandmother’s middle name was Roseleen, but Doug was never a huge fan of that one, so we compromised on Rose, and Afton was something we saw one night and both liked. I think it’s starting to suit her more and more.

For those of you who are interested, here are her vitals:

weight: 7lb 7oz

length: 20 1/2 inches

date: May 22, 2009

time: 1:13 pm

Afton with grandpa and her big brothers

Afton with grandpa and her big brothers

18 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    Welcome baby Afton! You look so sweet – we can’t wait to meet you!

  2. Rebecca said,

    Congratulations!!! She is beautiful. So happy for you guys and hope you’re doing well.

  3. andrea said,

    Congratulations!! Fell out? Seriously? You need to pass some of that this direction. I have to admit the closer I get to the delivery the more scared I get. It probably doesn’t help the I don’t get along real well with epidurals.
    Hope you are doing well and getting some sleep.

  4. Mom said,

    Wish I could be there .Can’t wait to meet Afton .Love you .Mom

  5. Trisha said,

    She is the most perfect little baby girl! It’s funny I was thinking that she looked just like she fit right in with her brothers. But somehow putting pink on her makes her so much more lovely! Thank goodness for an on the ball nurse! Congrats, congrats!!! I will be pressuring Charlie for a visit!!!

  6. Nisa Hunt said,

    YEAH! I saw your post show up on my blog roll and I thought – you better have had that baby! I’ve been thinking about you and hoping she was on her way! Congratulations. But I’m so excited that I didn’t even read the post yet, so I’m off to find out what fabulous name you gave her. Congratulations SARAH!!!!

  7. Nana Rozanna said,

    Wonderful news and such a special picture! Beautiful name! Love to all.

  8. DJo said,

    WOW! She is perfectly Cute! Thanks for posting. Can’t wait to meet her in person. Don’t spoil her too much before I get home. (oh, and my Mom commented her initals are ARR! (like a pirate))

  9. Honey said,

    She is beautiful, Sarah! Congratulations!

  10. Margaret said,

    Congrats Sarah! She is beautiful and I love her name. I think she is even more special because she shares my birthday.

  11. anne said,

    We are just soooooo excited to meet her and see all of you in a couple weeks!
    Hope you are hanging in there and able to enjoy some of the quiet moments with just you and the babe!

  12. ingrid said,

    Beautiful baby! I love that lots of pink will be filling your home! 🙂

  13. ingrid said,

    And I must mention AGAIN how seriously blessed you are to have not one, but TWO babies just FALL OUT! I don’t think I have ever known anyone that this has happened to (or anyone more deserving of such a nice delivery perk!) Congrats!

  14. Warren said,

    Yay for your beautiful baby girl!

  15. Suzie said,

    Congratulations, Sarah! Have fun enjoying all that comes with having a little girl!

  16. trisha said,

    I am ready for more baby pictures! Get on it! I see you cutie boys from the last couple…lets get going on Afton!

  17. sillyjillybean said,

    I am so thrilled for you and a tad jealous. What a great family she was born into. Hope you had fun with Anne this past week.

  18. ingrid said,

    I’m with Trisha…more Afton photos PLEEEEZ!

Leave a Reply

