What’s Wrong With This Picture?

July 20, 2009 at 2:18 pm (Kids, Mom Stuff, Why I'm crazy)

They shouldn't even make diapers this size!

They shouldn't even make diapers this size!

Back before I had kids, before I was even married for that matter, I had a plan. That plan included having a baby once every 3 years beginning two years after my wedding. Part of the reasoning behind the every three years spacing was the fact that I only wanted to have one baby in diapers at a time. I also only wanted to have one baby home at a time, and I was counting heavily on my love of the pre-school system.

Well, the best laid plans… because right now I have four children at home, none of them are older than five, and three of the children are still in diapers! That’s right, three different sizes of diapers! I can’t really explain why I deviated so drastically from my plan except to say that I love having kids. If we waited three years between kids I’d be missing half my family right now, and I’d also be limiting myself to the number of kids, because, let’s face it, I’m no longer a spring chicken!

 Part of this is my fault, I should have been more proactive with William, but then we had Doug’s surgery and a million different house guest helpers and then a new baby and then lots of trips to show off the new baby. Unfortunately this has resulted in a three year old who couldn’t care less if he uses the toilet. I was hoping my sister-in-law Christie would be able to work some of her magic while we were in Canada, but she’s not a miracle worker!

So, now we are housebound. I’m letting William spend the day au naturel, hoping that he won’t pee all over the carpet! So, far so good. We’ve done this for two days, and I’m hoping it’ll only take a couple of more. Who knows, maybe I’ll try and train Benjamin while I’m at it!

If anyone has any less messy or more sanitary methods, I’m all ears!

4 Comments

  1. Warren said,

    We haven’t potty trained Isaac yet. In fact, it’s looking like we won’t until next Spring b/c of the baby coming and possibly moving twice in the next six months . . .
    Good luck with potty training!

  2. Jill said,

    We are letting Ethan run around au’natural right now. He’s got it down but as soon as he has a pair of underwear on or shorts he thinks it’s a license to be lazy. Let me know when you succeed. Miss you. Thinking of you.

  3. Nisa said,

    um. . . . I’m empty on ideas. But we did try during the summer and my oldest spent most of his days out in the backyard potty training???

  4. andrea said,

    the naked thing worked great with my girls, but not Tanner

Leave a Reply

