Pioneer Day, Texas Style

July 26, 2009 at 11:33 pm (Family, Fun Stuff)

costumes and cotton candy

costumes and cotton candy

We lived in Utah through five Pioneer Days and I don’t ever recall doing anything to celebrate. There was always the big parade, but I’m no fan of huge crowds, so we never went. I think I might have watched part of a Pioneer Day parade on tv one year, but that’s about it. As far as ward activities go, I don’t think we ever did one. Apparently, because it’s  state holiday in Utah, there are enough events happening without the individual wards getting involved. Or maybe there were big events but because neither Doug nor I are descended from pioneer stock, we just weren’t invited. Who knows, and I refuse to live in the past!

Benjamin as a cowboy

Benjamin as a cowboy

In Texas though, they enjoy a good Pioneer Day party. Here it is totally a church thing, even though there is a Pioneer Museum in Fredericksburg, the state of Texas does not endorse a day without mail service for Pioneer Heritage . Our stake however throws a big bash. There were ponies, and a tilt-a-whirl contraption, homemade kettle corn, cotton candy, a bounce house and all kinds of games.

Samuel as a cowboy

Samuel as a cowboy

Since it was forecasted to be the hottest week-end of the year we decided to arrive and leave early. The only problem with getting there at 9:15 is that we were eating hot dogs for breakfast, and that was really only a problem in my mind! The kids loved the ponies (except for William because he’s too cautious to ride), and snow cones, and the bounce house. They didn’t even seem to mind the heat until it was time to leave. I myself, enjoyed probably more than my fair share of kettle corn! I also enjoyed all the people who held my baby!

William as a cowboy observer

William as a cowboy observer

We left before any of the serious games started. I don’t know who plays soft ball in that kind of heat, but they’re probably the same people who dress up in the bonnets and dresses. I don’t have that kind of devotion to the cause … I needed to be in shorts!

Afton with "grandma" Simpson

Afton with "grandma" Simpson

This is something that we’ve really enjoyed for the past couple of years, and it’s another reason that I like to think that San Antonio is actually “the place!”

The Pioneer Bounce House!

The Pioneer Bounce House!

3 Comments

  1. ingrid said,

    You’re stake goes all out! What a great party! Is that you in the bonnet giving out the cotton candy???

  2. Greg said,

    Ben is getting big!

  3. andrea said,

    I sure miss Pioneer day down there. Our ward announced they were doing something and my kids got so excited. I had to forewarn them that it would not be like San Antonio

Leave a Reply

