Helping Hands: Part I

July 29, 2009 at 10:52 am (Family)

The Easter egg hunt

The Easter egg hunt

I think that it’s time that I hand out some acknowledgement to all the people who came to our rescue during the great ordeal of’ ’09 (at least I hope that was the great ordeal of  ’09, because I don’t know if I can handle any more!). I’ve already written about what a lifesaver Ingrid was. Ingrid stayed here until my mother-in-law arrived.

We had previously arranged with Anita to came and stay with us for a few days after the baby was born, and I was a little nervous because we’ve never really had people come as soon as a baby arrived. Also, sometimes, the mother-n-law/daughter-in-law relationship can be a little difficult to navigate. So, I was also a little nervous about Anita coming while Doug was in the hospital.

Turns out I had nothing to worry about. I was so preoccupied with Doug that there was no time to worry about anything else. Anita came in and took over at home so that I could focus on Doug. She came with me and the kids to the hospital once a day, but I also got to go by myself once a day. She watched the kids while I went to doctor’s appointments. She also bought candy for Easter egg hunts and took William to the grocery store. She took all of the kids to McDonalds and the second hand bookstore. Grandpa also came for Easter week-end and he gave the boys haircuts.

Grandpa cutting William's hair

Grandpa cutting William's hair

She took the kids on lots of adventures to Wal-Mart and Target. She cleaned. She basically made my home life worry-free for a week. This was also the first time that my kids had spent a chunk of time with just them and their granny. I think that was a very positive experience for my kids (hopefully it was a positive experience for granny!). This was also the visit that I learned that Anita likes to chat at night. I learned a lot about the Roberts family that week. Ironically, I think it was probably the most stress free visit ever!

Anita also came back to take over for my dad after we had the baby. This time she let me nap, take the baby to the doctor, and most helpful of all, she took the baby at night and let us get some sleep. It was probably the most appreciated night’s sleep in history! She also painted our stairwell on this visit! She has limitless energy!  

Helping the kids find their eggs

Helping the kids find their eggs

Thanks Anita for making everything so easy for us during a not so easy time.

4 Comments

  1. Kathy said,

    Looks like your MIL was a huge help to you guys when you needed her the most. I’m sure she had a fun time with the boys and was glad that she could help!!! I know the end of my pregnancy with Cooper was tough and I appreciated those days that I had extra hands! Hope everyone is well your way…..

  2. ingrid said,

    Anita is an angel.

  3. Trisha said,

    I think Anita made the time fun for the boys…which is great under such stressful circumstances!

    now…I want to wish you Happy Halloween!! What witht the background?

  4. Charlotte said,

    I like her too! I hope you are doing well…we missed you at the wedding! Afton’s birth announcement is adorable, by the way!

Leave a Reply

