Helping Hands: Part II

July 31, 2009 at 12:28 am (Family, Miracles, Mom Stuff)

Mom with her favorite grandkids!

Mom with her favorite grandkids!

So, this is week 2 of our in-home help chronicles. My mom came in to take over for Anita. She was actually here when Doug got home from the rehab center (I’m not saying that’s what made her leave, but…!). The timing was actually very good because my mom was in Florida, vacationing with my brother, so it was just a hop, skip, and a jump for her to come to Texas.

For the first few days she helped with the hospital visits, plus we had fun times with Chuck E. Cheese. There were also homemade meals and some down-time in front of the television. And of course the obligatory trips to my doctors to make sure I wasn’t having the baby before my husband was up and walking around.  I talk to my mom almost every day on the phone. She knows almost everything that’s going on with us, so it was very comforting having her here. There are some things that only your mom can make better.

It was great being able to talk with my mom every night after my visits with Doug. She was also there to help with Doug’s transition back to work. When Doug first came home he couldn’t drive and so his first morning back to work I was able to drive him into the office while my mom stayed home with the kids.

This whole experience has been so surreal to me, but our family has helped us cope. I am so grateful that we have people in our lives who were willing to drop everything to come take care of us. I can’t imagine how difficult this would have been without our families. My mom made everything so much easier for me and the boys.

Thanks mom!

4 Comments

  1. ingrid said,

    Your Mom is an angel too! I also chat with my Mom almost daily and agree that there are some things that only your Mom can make better. You are so loved, Sarah. I think it’s in times like this that we realize the support and love we have around us. I have been impressed through the past few months how you handled this situation with such grace, poise, love, patience, and all within weeks of having your beautiful baby Afton. LOVE the birth announcement, by the way. One of the cutest I have ever seen!

  2. Trisha said,

    You know I have always liked your mom! What a great family you have! The whole big family!!! And really who doesnt love a woman who carries such a lovely purse? Thats some good taste!

    AND I love the new layout! Very cool and classy…reminds me of you!

  3. Charlotte said,

    Wow! You are so lucky to have that blessed help from Moms! It would be nicer if you didn’t have to have a traumatic experience to see them though!

  4. Sharleen said,

    I’m so glad you were taken good care of! It’s sounds like you all are doing well now – I wish we could come visit you guys, but Warren’s work scheduled changed and we need the rest of his vacation days for when the baby comes. We were hoping to drive out there but now that I’m almost 32 weeks along and Isaac was born at 36.5 weeks, well . . . time’s basically run out. We miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

