Helping Hands: Part III

August 17, 2009 at 1:42 pm (Family, Things I love) ()

Part of the banner Christina made

Part of the banner Christina made

At this point you’re probably asking yourself, how much help did these people get? Well, let me tell you, a lot! This one will be out of order, but that’s okay.

 

After Christina's hard work!

After Christina's hard work!

While my dad was here, he flew my sister and her kids to Texas from Washington. This is how I know my sister loves me. She flew across the country with her three kids, and left her husband at home for almost a week. The only thing that maks me sad is that the timing didn’t work out for her to be here when the baby was born. She was my own personal doula when I had Samuel!

Working hard in the 100 degree heat!

Working hard in the 100 degree heat!

If you don’t know my sister, you should check out her blog here. The girl has got crazy energy. She did not want her trip to be a waste in any way. She and my dad were always going. I’m pretty sure that Christina and my dad did all my nesting for me.

Cousins!

Cousins!

There were trips to Goodwill and the fabric store. There were cupcakes made for a visit from her sister-in-law. There were stories, and not very much t.v. to distract the children. There was Dancing with the Stars on the Wii in the hopes of inducing labor! There was a wonderful visit with Grandma Ellen. Then there were the projects…

The dresser and the doll that Christina made

The dresser and the doll that Christina made

My sister likes projects, and I have benefitted greatly from that. We learned to love the spray paint (thanks for the idea, Anna!), and used it on many, many things! Christina refinished the rocking chair (which I have been talking about doing for 6 years), made curtains for the nursery, refinished the dresser/ changing table (this a joint project with my father), we framed fun stuff, then there was the magnet board, and she made bread, and green smoothies. She also went shopping for Doug’s birthday present with me. There was even a trip to the pool with 6 kids under 6!

A fabric covered magnet board with homemade magnets

A fabric covered magnet board with homemade magnets

It was a jam packed week, and I was sad when she had to leave. She called from the airport becaue her flights got a little out of joint, and I almost drove right back to get her. Would her husband really mind if she never came home?! When Doug and I were first married, we lived in Salt Lake and Christina and Jason were in Provo. We would hang out once a week and get lunch, or get out hair cut. Now, we see each other a couple of times a year, and it’s kind of sad. Unfortunately, I don’t see us moving to an island any time soon, and I don’t know that she loves all the Texas heat!

The curtains she made

The curtains she made

After she got home, she made us even more stuff. There was a banner a homemade doll, and two of the most adorable onesies you’ve ever seen. The nursery exists because of my sister! One day I might even move Benjamin out and Afton in! Everyone should be as blessed to have a little sister like I have.

Christina and Eliza

Christina and Eliza

7 Comments

  1. Nisa Hunt said,

    AH, so wonderful. Now you made me want a sister again – darn you 🙂

  2. Christina said,

    It’s easy to do lots of projects when my dad is there doing all the dishes and cooking the meals and my kids are occupied with their cousins! It was lots of fun – I too wish I could have been there when Afton was born and that Whidbey was closer to TX. I’ll just have to pray you to Anarcortes!

  3. Trisha said,

    Good Night! That girl can get it done!!! What a great sister!

  4. Margaret said,

    Seriously, I don’t know how Christina does it all. I’m got tired just reading the post.
    Sisters are great.

  5. Margaret said,

    Oh yea, and congrats on becoming a citizen. Does that mean you had to give up your Irish citizenship? Wait that was you that had that right?

  6. Honey said,

    Christina is amazing! I told Ryan one time that when it comes to Judgment Day I better not be after Christina. He said he didn’t think that’s how we were judged, but good grief – she’s one of a kind.

    And, it looks like you are just as amazing! That shower looks awesome! I love showers where they pamper the mom.

  7. ingrid said,

    What a great blessing to have a sister like Christina! She is an UBER talented lady with an UBER generous heart….I’d say it runs in the family!

Leave a Reply

